Every First Time Moms' Fear: The Clippers

in #life6 years ago

One of the scariest tasks of being a mother: clipping your LO's fingernails. The first time I cut my baby's nails was about two or three months ago. I have assigned my sister to be Aya's official mani/pedi.

image
Source

I guess I was traumatized by my baby's experience when she was 1 month old. Her first nail cut went fine since it was done by my sister. I even kept the cut nails.

It was my sister-in-law's birthday and since she asked, I allowed her to give my then 1 month old baby a bath. I didn't mind the help, I appreciate it because it gave me time to do other chores. She suggested she also wanted to cut the baby's nails. To which I agreed but gave her specific instructions.

Ok. But wait til she's asleep since she moves a lot when she's awake. Also if you're gonna cut the nails, I'll need to be the one holding her just to be sure we don't cut her accidentally.

image
Source

She said okay. So I went on with the chores downstairs. I left her and the baby in the room. When I was done, I went upstairs and right after I opened the door, I heard a spund that only a nailcutter will do. So I immediately looked at her and the baby. Lo and behold, she was holding my baby's pinky on one hand and the nail cutter on the other. She was also still carrying the baby so I know the position for my baby's fingernail was awkward I was so worried she might have been cut. I reminded her that the baby needs to be asleep because she is too uneasy especially when she knows you'e doing something to her.

Just as I was about to finish my statement, I saw something red on my baby's pinky. I thought it was just a small dot of blood. But then it started flowing to her hand. Then she started crying. I knew my baby was hurt.

Struggling to not shout at the cause of my baby's pain, I took her. I looked at her finger and I needed to ask my sister in law to stop touching my baby. Mother's protective instinct took over me. When she left, I asked my busband to get the first aid kit and I shut the door. I hid my baby from the world for a week.

It took a couple of days before her wound healed. But the trauma didn't leave me. I was just able to overcome my fear when my sister needed to move out. No one can cut my bany's fingernails anymore. So I tried to. I am now already able to cut her nails but I still need to put her to sleep before I could. And I make sure there is enough light so I don't accidentally hurt her.

I have forgiven my sister-in-law, I know it was an accident. She too, I think was traumatized. But she will have to learn to overcome that fear. Just not with my Aya's fingernails anymore. LOL.

image
Source

Here are some tips I learned that you can use when cutting your little one's nails.

  • Just to be safe, cut baby's nails when she is asleep
  • If you really want to cut her nails while she's awake, try to make her feel relaxed. You can have her watch TV or talk to her and explain what you are doing.
  • Once youbare cutting her nails, cut small. Don't try to cut the entire excess nails.
  • If during cutting, there is something that got left on the nail, don't try to pull it. Cut it gently with your nail cutter.
  • Don't rush. If baby starts to feel uneasy, stop. Continue cutting only when she is back to her relaxed state.

It's really a struggle and really is one of the scariest thing a mother will ever do.But that's just how it is to become a mother. You need be brave to overcome your fears. Unless you're ready to see your baby become wolverine and scratch everything including your eyes.


Thank you for visiting my blog!


2123526103.gif




Discord link

romeskie.png

Sort:  

Relate much, nakakatakot talaga kaya naman yung bantay ng baby ko pinapaputol ko noon, hehe. Pero ngayon ako na. 😁

Oo. Kahit ngayon natatakot pa rin ako pero kailangan siyang gupitan kaya ginugupitan ko na rin.

5 bata na po ang naalagaan ko. Para akong yaya! Like full time yaya! Kaya alam ko kahit wala akong baby, magaling akong mag alaga. Jeje!

Haha. Nag alaga rin ako ng pamangkin pero hindi full time. Kaya nung baby ko na talaga, nahirapan talaga ako. Hahaha

From day one kasi akong naging yaya @romeskie, kaya natutunan ko lahat mula sterilization ng gamit hanggang kahit anong anek anek na ajaja maliban lang talaga sa breastfeeding.

Wow! Ang galing! Alam mo ba na kahit hindi ikaw ang mother, pwede kang mag-breastfeed? Hahahah...

Para lang to sa Daddy na milk. LOL. Joke lang. Actually, naranasan ko kasi mag alaga ng bata weeks old pa lang @romeskie, kaya naging sikat ako na yaya sa amin. Dakilang Auntie-Yaya. Alam ko lahat at di ako takot pati na paglinis ng pusod kaso me isang kinatatakutan ako, ang paglinis ng bunbunan ng baby. Sobrang takot na takot akong linisan ito.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73