Why Aren't More Millenials Starting Side Hustles and Making Money Online?

in #life6 years ago


Why Aren't More Millenials Starting Side Hustles?


This afternoon while I was checking e-mails I saw an e-mail in my box from Redfin titled "Redfin Survey: 36% of Millennial Homebuyers Took a Second Job to Save for Down Payment"

I was kind of surprised it was such a large percentage of millenials taking second jobs to buy a home. This is the supposed "lazy generation" so it's cool to see they are doing what needs to be done to get what they want.

The second thing that came to mind was "man working a second job sucks". I've worked 2 and even 3 jobs and I can tell you the last thing you want to do when you get home from a long day at work is to get dressed and go to another job for another couple hours.

It also got me thinking about some of my side hustles. Take Amazon Merch for example. Amazon Merch makes me about $1,000 per month. If I had a part time job making $15 per hour, which I think is on the higher end of what part time jobs pay, it would take me 66 hours to earn the same amount as I do on Amazon Merch. That's 16.5 hours per week.

Now Amazon Merch is hard work at times, but what's nice is it's fairly flexible. Sometimes I'll work really hard for a few weeks and then take a week, or two, or even three weeks off. You can't do that with a part time job. Oftentimes when I'm designing and uploading to Merch it's in the evenings when I'm hanging out watching tv with my girlfriend. This got me thinking, which would you rather do?

Would you rather have to go work a part time job, or would you rather do a side hustle from home that offers some flexibility, that actually has the possibility of going somewhere and doing something bigger, and just doing something for yourself that you know you created? For me I'd much rather take the side hustle route.

Millenials are okay with working hard, I just wish more of us would work smart and start our own things.

Your thoughts? Drop a comment below...


Business Inquiries, Sponsor a Video, or Just Wanna Say What's Up...

[email protected]


Social

Blog RulesForRebels.Com
Steemit @RulesForRebels
Twitter @RulesForRebels
Instagram @RulesForRebels


Support the Channel with Crypto

Bitcoin
1AbsM6eUvruyRZZ9iB3cFgTRtBwCmNcgRa

Litecoin
M9xpcu43xaoksM1zKQVeHos8yxuJevC8zk

Ethereum
0x4CE3AA68e31F8Fd9B8c73AE76C40B42eB90Be5b8

NavCoin
NeyMn17BXV9SoYJGUPLyG47xRfWxRYWsz9

Steemit
@RulesForRebels
STM6hprxM2ciQa48H2fBdq9ksn8rmFGdFoTrQCz516pHS7NqVHBBq

Dash
XbRAqzqwLLk2Fkq6bUtN417UFrjNcaLyDj

ZCash
t1VgnxB76TesdUuzYs6Qpbr5kPS86cEreVy

Origional Video Posted Here

Sort:  

Yes ... I agree with you. I am trying to get my kids started here on Steemit, Youtube, Amazon Affiliate’s etc... it starts small a few dollars a day, and before you know it it’s an extra $1,000 a month. It helps pay for a lot of essentials.

Hmm, good idea.... Maybe it’s time to get my son on here.

I’ll have to look into the amazon stuff.

Hey @offgridlife I think that's awesome. I think its a really big mental shift that happens when we make our first Dollar outside of a 9 to 5 job and realize that it's even a possibility to do so. I think very few of us are exposed to the idea we don't have to work for someone else and even if we choose to that you can make additional money on your own doing things you love. I think entrepreneurial ventures are a great way for people to spend time with their kids while teaching them valuable skills.

Yes.... my son (13 yrs old) was making a few dollars a month on YouTube until they changed the Monetization requirements..... now he makes nothing until he gets to 1,000 Subscribers. At least he is making up for it here on Steemit.

That's awesome, especially at 13 years old. Keep encouraging it and he'll be so far ahead of everyone else when he's in his 20's

Great content, as usual. I really enjoyed this video. I've been encouraging my wife to post her stuff to YouTube and Pinterest. I also encourage her to sell her creations on Etsy, but she hasn't yet. I'm thinking I'm going to have to figure out the platforms for her and then teach her, just like I did with Facebook ads and general digital marketing.

Hey buddy appreciate the kind words. Yeah keep encouraging her. It blows my mind all these really talented people who are basically just leaving money on the table. I get for some people maybe turning a hobby into a business would take the fun out of it for them but you can do things casually and still make a buck.

I've been trying to get my girlfriend on Steemit or posting photos to a blog or Instagram. She enjoys writing and photography and I've really tried to encourage her to try to make money off that stuff or grow it into something and she tells me she doesn't have time she works

I think a lot of people are still behind the times when it comes to all of these opportunities to make extra money.

I’ve been trying to talk my coworkers and family into joining Steemit. I’ve had almost no success doing so. I think it’s seems so far fetched to them that you can make money blogging.

I think very few truly understand just how many opportunities blockchain and crypto will give us. It may take more time for the mainstream to get a hold of it.

Yeah what's really crazy to me is how people come up with an idea on their own for something that already exists ie I remember I was doing dropshipping like 8 years ago before I even knew it was a thing, I just thought I had a clever idea to sell things I didn't have in my posession.

I'll often hear people online say things like could I find a company to pay me to sell their stuff like affiliate marketing or various other ideas. There's a lot of things I wish I had learned way earlier in terms of online hustles amazon merch kindle book publishing all types of stuff.

As far as crypto I intiially tried to get a lot of people in my personal life as well as my Youtube subscribers to come over to Steemit and tried to get them excited about the concept of potentially earning off content they create, heck they create a ton of free content for facebook and instagram already and get paid nothing.

Ultimately I think the rewards are a bit underwhelming and while I love this platform, its not based on creating great content, its based on knowing how to play the game so I think the "you can make money' pitch doesn't really go over well because the money for most is small and the system is kind of stacked. Hopefully this platform continues to grow and get a wider user base, we start getting a wider array of people and content and hopefully content starts to take center stage instead of everyong buying their way on to hot and trending as is what its currently all about

I agree. I joined over two years ago now and for a month or two was on often and posted several stories. My friends told me it was mostly my mistake for how i formatted the stories, written and published with a few readers in mind, forgetting the way the rewards work, and not accounting for peoples short attention spans (i was told my stories should have been broken into bits to garner attention and more time to be upvoted which i see now is true). While i did receive some positive feedback and well wishings, for the time i put into creating the original content, the rewards were exactly what you said, underwhelming. Seems like with the social media driven generation and those of us adapting, pictures and click bait like headlines are 'tricks of the trade'. While i too have hope that steemit grows and eventually cuts out its own space, seems the rewards go to those with large followings from other platforms, and those with bots set in place to reap the benefits of curation. Such is life.

I can totally relate to that! I convinced my colleagues to join this platform. Out of 10, only two tried. And they only posted once and off they went!

Truly sucks to see people missing on such opportunity.

Most people can't see into the unknown. They can't draw a link between them working a few hours and getting the money. I see that people can draw the link better with 1099 independent work like Uber, Lyft, Door Dash.....etc.

I agree what you said about the ride share stuff. It is just kicking the can down the road. It isn't that profitable. I think it is an ok if a person is going to pick up some extra cash in a pinch but not to sit there and do it for years on end like my friend in Cali is doing.

It's interesting what you said about 1099 workers. Some people argue whether that's truly an "entreprenuer" I personally don't really like to try to quantify who is and isn't an entrepreneur, however I was thinking about making a video about this subject, basically the idea being if someone else is setting up an opportunity for you to make money, you better believe they are going to be rewarded as much if not more so than you and sometimes its actually a scam to give you the illusion you can make money while in reality they are really the only ones making money, yeah I'm talking about you amazon.

Did you hear about Amazon's new program. you can start a delivery company and work for them delivering packages? They advertise you can make 300K per year. If you break down the math your probably going to make $37,000 your first year if everything goes perfectly. Oh yeah and they also want you to provide benefits and paid time off to employees while their employees piss in waterbottles because they don't have time to use the restroom. Gonna be making a post about that in the next day or so

In general I don't consider people on a 1099 a n entrepreneur myself. There are some rare exceptions to that because if someone has a consulting company they might have to get a 1099 from a client.

I hadn't heard the details on the Amazon delivery service but it doesn't surprise me. I would certainly like to see someone really do the math on Lyft and Uber. It is funny because my friend who bought a pretty new Ford Focus to do Lyft acts like he really likes it but like we have said. I don't think the math really works out. It is just kicking the can down the road and then suddenly the person is upside down on their car loan because they racked up insane miles. Also you are supposed to have additional insurance for that but a lot of people don't .

I think it takes a lot of time and effort to begin to earn as much as a regular job would, so I think that deters a lot of people

I agree with what you said but sometimes all you have to do is to find a good market, a good product/service to offer your value to someone who is willing to pay a high amount for service/product rendered.

For e.g. Sales workshop or Knitting classes. You can command any amount for such knowledge based classes. And there is scalability. Regardless if it’s 1 or 20 students, you’ll still be teaching the same thing. Hence, it makes sense to get involved with such business model

You should do a top 10 (or 5) post on top side hustles. I'd read it.

Posted using Partiko Android

That really was a good perspective you provided to earning extra income, an extra income that can make all the difference

Wish more people discover steemit. I am also a millinial working full-time and just starting in Steemit. Hope to get better in the future :P

Online opportunities are sure to be attractive. There are also many traps that we had to be careful of. Most of us are really serious about steemit as an opportunity for additional income. Great that you develop the flexible time!

Get free votes! toolsfree[DOT]info/votes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30