Overwhelmed by all the options... (a problem of a new generation?)

in #life6 years ago


When my father left school he basically had two choices. Either go to the butchery and become a butcher. Or go to the fabric and become a laborer.

He chose second.

When I left school I had not two but hundreds of choices. And it left me nervous while desperately trying to find the "right" thing.

Turns out that, even today the overwhelming amount of options is almost paralyzing to make a choice at all.

As if the more options there are, the more likely we are to miss the "perfect" one.

Yet, choosing one thing and committing to it, is often better than having nothing at all.

My father became an engineer and salesman later on. How good for him that instead of postponing the decision to tomorrow, he became a laborer, made connections, learned what he liked and developed from there.

What I'm learning just now: Having countless options is a luxury, but not a necessity to follow your dream. What is needed though is a first step. (and a second and third one) ;)

Sam



This post is originally published on my blog: samryter.com/blog
I, Sam Ryter (@sams-world) am the author and creator of this piece of content.
(Copyright @sams-world, samryter.com)

Thank you for reading :)


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://samryter.com/overwhelmed-by-options/

Sort:  

Hate to break it to you that part doesn't get easier unless you KNOW what you want. I used to. Then I failed one of the most essential classes I needed for that field. Then I failed it a 2nd time with the help of a tutor. I never dreamed of anything else, so I didn't have a fall back.

I figured out an alternative that would have worked out nicely, then I got sick and since I wasn't in class (my professor even came to see me in the hospital since it was across the street. Gave me my assignments to stay caught up) Ended up being failed in the class .... Missed too many classes. When I tried to fight it, especially since he gave me the assignments and knew I was in the hospital, he would not budge. Being 19 yr old, I threw my hands up and buried myself at work. I volunteered for any shift I could get just so I didn't/couldn't think.

30 years later, I still don't know what I want to do when I grow up LOL. Getting ready for a change, the only way to know it's right or not is to just take the first step.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84