The 2 parts within us (the enemy of every artist) (2min read)

in #life6 years ago

Just few days ago, I signed up on this amazing platform. I had no idea what Steemit was about. I didn't even know, that you can actually earn money. All I cared was to find a place to share my writings.

And then, I read a few posts. And realised that people make a lot of money from it. And then I read a few "how-to's" and slowly, without being aware, I drifted into so much excitement of building up my blog as fast as possible.

Until, I found myself in a loop of overthinking and overcomplicating.

Greed is such an enemy of art... 

It's as if there are 2 parts within us humans:

On one part there's the sense of self-importance (or ego). It cares about the success. About the money. About the outcome. And about all the shiny objects. It's the overthinking part that blocks people and seeks to please everyone. 

Then there's the other part. The SELF. Or that authentic truth within. The fountain of creativity. It is connected.  It feels light, because there is no real outcome attached. It is here to create. I experience it as inspiration in its purest form. No rules, no limitations - but a sense of freedom. 

the paradox...

It's very tempting - and I believe very innocently "human" - to get blinded by the fame, power and the shiny objects that seem to be awaiting in the future. It's a pleasant feeling to have dreams and aspirations.

And yet, I experience a paradox:

Whenever I have been most successful, I didn't really care about the needs and wants of the ego. I wasn't that important - in that moment.

I allowed the SELF to be in charge. Because the self acts from it's highest potential, whereas the ego is limited and mostly concerned, self-centered and afraid about what others may think.

The ego seeks to please. The self just creates.

Here's why I love writing so much: 

It's a practice of surrendering. And it teaches me to let go of wanting to impress. And instead get out of my own way and let the muse work through me.

Some call it flow. And to me, there's just no better feeling than this. No success or fame can even come close to this. In fact, I may re-define "success" anyways.

I believe it to be the secret of doing great art. And perhaps the secret of living a joyful life.

My girlfriend made a picture of our dog a few days ago. He already masters the art of happiness. Perhaps because he doesn't take everything so seriously...

Can you relate to the "muse" within you, when everything around somehow dissipates? When does it show up for you? And for all artists: What's your recipe for tapping into that "space"?

wishing you the best,
Sam

-------

And: Are there any fellow writers here? Pleas let me know. I just signed up and I look forward to connect with some of you!

Sort:  

I am going to sponsor you for steembasicincome :)

thank you very much :) I appreciate that!
Best wishes to you @phillyc
sam

Congratulations @sams-world! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Celebration party is going on here!

I'm surprised you haven't received more comments. I know exactly what you are saying and I'm sure many other bloggers here would agree too.
Resteeming.

thank you Donna. It's the part of starting out on a new plattform, I guess. But...It's building.. slowly... but it does... :) Thank you for the resteem! <3
Sam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89