Do You Care What Other People Think?

in #life5 years ago

1.png

It is innate human nature to constantly compare yourself with those around you and to gain their approval in a plethora of little to large things. This is because, we have evolved as a social species and it has served us to be a part of a group for survival purposes.

Today, when much of the dangers faced by our ancestors have been mitigated, we still seek to "fit in" and be a part of the society because new factors and considerations have cropped up.

That's why we care so much about what other people think and guide our actions and behaviour accordingly. While this serves a purpose on a macro scale where things like morality are concerned, it might hamper one's life greatly if we see things from the micro perspective.

As human beings, we want to live a life of freedom where we can do as we please and yet that's not what happens generally. At least not in the part of the world I come from. This to me, is a huge paradox and one that saddens me quite a bit.

Are We Truly Free?

2.jpg

Theoretically, living in a democracy, we consider ourselves to be free individuals where we can do and say whatever we want as long as we're not breaking the law of the land. But the tendency to care for what other people think has made us prisoners of sorts.

I mean, if you change any aspect of your life in fear of what others might say, are you not their prisoner? We wear what we think others will like, we say and act keeping others in mind, we even select one photo out of many to post on social media, that we think others will like.

This also applies to the things we don't do. Many people don't go after their dreams or make use of their talents fearing judgement from others, we don't share our deepest thoughts and feelings fearing ridicule or rejection from others. In my country, many don't even marry the one they love fearing what others might say or think.

This begs the question. Are we really free? Or are we prisoners of others' thoughts and judgements that frankly, might not even exist. What we do, wear, act, eat or anything else, is none of anybody's business and yet our actions are heavily influenced by "what other people will think".

Let me ask you a question. When/if you ever need those people whose thoughts you care about so much, will they come to your aid then? I don't think so. Even if some of them did, your life is your own and you have every right to live it the way you see fit. No compromises. No guilt.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Your topic took my interest highly because just today I ended up myself thinking the ideas of my friend about me.. We cut our relationship 1 year ago and today I thought how she sees me or think about me.. Than I said to myself "come to yourself.. " Does it really matter what a aperson think about me.. Everybody is responsible from themselves. She does not have to like me or think positive about me.. But unfortunately we have such a blockage in front of us.. Thanks for topic..

Yeah, as you said, we are responsible for ourselves.

This goes with age. I heard on the radio before...
When you are 18, you worry about what everyone think of you.
When you are 40, you don't care what everyone think of you.
When you are 60, nobody think of you.

LOL That's so true!!

Yes i was amused when I first heard it.😎

At a point in life, we do care what others think of us. But then there comes a point where we do not care at all what others think and just do what we feel right for ourselves! ;)

I agree. It can come in phases but I think we should consciously make efforts not to be bothered about what other people think.

Yes true. Because in the end, making our own decisions will help us. Bothering about what others say of us will simply ruin our peace of mind and can distract us from taking a right path.

Someone’s opinion of you can have a huge impact on your life, if you let it. But there’s a huge difference between caring and worrying about what other people think of you....

Posted using Partiko Android

I agree. For the purposes of this article, I am kind of using "caring" and "worrying" interchangeably.

You got a 50.48% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @sauravrungta! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 60 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86