It Always Seems Impossible Until It’s Done

in #life6 years ago

possible-953169_1280.jpg

You might already know through my blog posts that I am a huge science and technology fan. I mean, I just have to keep myself updated with the latest happenings in these fields. It’s like an addiction at this point really!

So, it’s natural for me to share what I learn in my posts and with my friends and family. I get a lot of comments regarding those on my articles as well as from real life people and I love discussing about them. It helps me see the various possibilities that the future holds for us.

Most of the times, I see people get excited and talk about how they perceive the various possibilities and what it would mean for the human race and how the advancements could make things better.

But sometimes, (more often than I would like), there are people who simply state that some of the things are just impossible! And that kind of puts me off, although I know everyone has a right to their opinion.

Skeptics Do Not Create

newborn-2682631_1280.jpg

Although skepticism should be practiced where it matters, it should in no way be applied where it might end up hindering progress. History is littered with examples of humans achieving what seemed totally impossible.

I mean, think of a time before airplanes. People could only wish they could fly like birds and now we do it all the time. Think of a time before smartphones. People couldn’t even have imagined that distance would only be a word someday.

Think of a time when the diseases that we don’t give two thoughts about today used to kill thousands of people. The thought of some day going to other planets and moons? I bet people would have called this a mad man’s dream. And look at us today.

I could go on and on and on giving you thousands of such examples but I think you get my point. Skeptics have a habit of being proved wrong and yet, they are adamant.

Find Ways Something Will Work Instead of Ways It Won’t

possible-2499888_1280.png

You know, there is something I read the other day that caught my attention. There could be a thousand ways something doesn’t work but we need that one way it does and we only need it once.

Scientists and inventors throughout history have failed again and again, some even a thousand times, but they didn’t give up and they made it happen. And we are reaping the benefits of that perseverance even today.

When talking about futuristic and sci-fi technologies or scientific theories, some people might say that those are just impossible. But wait a few decades. I bet you someone will prove them wrong. We have always managed to surprise ourselves.

Who would have imagined that a bunch of plastic, metal, glass, silicon and other stuff (components of your computer) would enable you to read this article thousands of miles away from me? But people found a way. They made it happen!!

Sort:  

It's weird how we fear craving for success for the sole reason that we could go wrong. I mean, what do you even expect? Success comes from failure. You can't sail if you're too afraid that your boat will sink.

Fear of failure is one of the biggest reason holding people back.

I am glad to read your writing. My mother always used to say, it is impossible that there is nothing in the world. He may not have been highly educated. But that's true. Many ways come out when you try. Thanks @sauravrungta.

True that!! Nothing is impossible.

What do you think about teleportation of big objects? Do you think it possible?

Yes, one day. For sure.

I always remember a friend of mine when he used to go to the mountains with his kids. After walking for a while, when the hill was getting steeper before reaching the pinnacle, the kids would start saying they were very tired and could not keep walking.
He used to tell them, "when you feel you cannot walk anymore, you have just used 10% of your physical capacity so stop complaining and keep hicking".
Most of the time, we believe something is impossible just because we do not have the patience to search for options or to go through the effort of trying to reach the goal.

That is so true! We are so used to giving excuses that we just can't realise our true potential sometimes.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thanks for this!

I’m gonna ask this go most skeptical woman on the earth and come back to you. Just a sec..

Hey scully?

Love the phrase, "skeptics don't create."

I have a friend, who's become skeptical of everything as he's aged. He's almost afraid of his own shadow. He doesn't travel or do fun stuff because he finds 100 things that could go wrong. When you tell him about your plans, he's quick to tell you all the problems that may arise (whether youve considered them or not) It's sad really and I've had to limit my time with him because his attitude.

He'd be the guy telling the Wright Brother's they are wasting their time....

You said it perfectly. It's sad. It really is, to live in that fear which doesn't allow you to do anything. I'm glad there are people who are the opposite of that so that the human race keeps moving forward.

the future belongs to people who believe in the beauty of their dreams

That's correct!

Beautifully written, just love the phrase "Sceptics don't create"..:-)

Thank you! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06