You’re Always One Decision Away From A Totally Different Life

in #life6 years ago

walk-2635038_1280.jpg

Think of all the series of events that had to happen for you to be reading this blog right now, at this point of time. No, really think about it! The smallest of change and you wouldn’t be reading this right now.

While the act of reading my blog might certainly not be a very important event in your life but there are million other things that are! And the slightest of change in the past could have meant totally different set of conditions in your present.

Isn’t this such a profound realisation? That the everyday events in our lives, that we do not pay too much attention to or assign too much importance to, have such a literal, life changing impact.

Perhaps it is this realisation that most people need, to take more conscious decisions in their lives so as to have more control over the overall direction it’s headed to.

Clarity In Hindsight

crowd-of-people-1209630_1280.jpg

The problem though, is that almost all of the time, we are not aware of the significance of some of the events until they have happened and led to a certain outcome.

For example, you have two choices on a particular evening. You could either go out with your friends to a restaurant or stay at home watching TV. These two options seem to be of little importance at first.

But let’s say that you get to meet the love of your life if you go out with your friends and miss out on it if you stay in. So, taking that first decision, in hindsight, would be one of the most significant moments of your life, isn’t it?

Looking back on it, you would feel lucky that you took that particular decision so that the series of events that ensued from there on ensured your meeting with your wife!

There is really nothing we can do about it as we just can’t predict the future and that’s kind of the beauty of it. The most we can do is try to connect the dots, as far as taking important decisions go and hope for the best!

The Many-worlds Interpretation

globe-73397_1280.jpg

Ok, so I am going to bring in a little bit of science now, as I think it relates to the topic at hand. There is this many-worlds interpretation of quantum mechanics that I just realised has immense significance in what we are talking about.

Basically what this interpretation says is that there are an infinite number of universes out there and anything that can happen, has happened in one of those universes.

So, there is a universe where I am a doctor and not a blogger and there is also a universe where I love DC, all existing in the same realm of possibilities!

So, can we take solace in the fact that we are already living all the possible outcomes since birth that we can and our life is just one of those series of events out of the infinite, and somewhere, a different version of ourself is living the life we want? Or is it that much sadder?

Sort:  

Yes! I am a HUGE believer of that sentiment. Thank you for reminding me.

yeah, it makes total sense, doesn't it? Thanks for reading :)

and oh this is the first blog in steemit that i actually got interested into since i started my journey here..

woah! Thank you so much. That means a lot to me :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thanks for this.

I also got intrigued about the same when I read about it months ago @sauravrungta. According to what I learned, there are infinite worlds which we live at different points in time and all of that coexist, which means whenever we interact with anyone, we are actually interacting with ourselves and not anyone else.

Just imagine how empathetic the world would be towards others if this happens to be accurate, and people start believing in it. There would be no issues in the world and just peace.

Also, to add to what you have mentioned here, I would want you to read a short story, The Egg by Andy Weir. You will be able to find it on Google. It's a great read. You should give it a shot.

I can paste the link here if you want.

The many-worlds interpretation doesn't say that when we interact with anyone we actually interact with ourselves. It simply says that all the permutations and combinations of our lives (infinite possibilities) all exist in the multiverse at the same time.

Everything being one, is another concept which says that the entire existence is simply one energy and we stem from that energy. And yes, this is a realisation that would change everyone for the better.

Will surely give that a read. Thanks for sharing!

heard of the butterfly effect ?

Yes, I have! Such a mind-bending thing.

Wow...I just touched on this issue with my recent blog article...it referenced a book talking about what the future may look like and also referenced the reality of us evolving to what we are...is a fine tuned set up circumstances...

That sounds like an interesting book. I am always looking for reading material about the future visions.

It was quite the mind bender.

There is little or nothing we can do when it comes to being where we are today. I am a person who so much believe in fatalism. Our fate is predetermined from the inception of our birth. I was lucky to come online as my internet provider cut me out due to no internet subscription. But it was fate that I meant this guy who borrowed me little money, with his help I was able to pay for a day. And now I can contribute to your blog. We are a pencil in the hand of our creator.

Well, I personally believe that our fates are not predetermined and are ever changing based on the decisions we are making every single day. I believe that freewill means something and that we get to choose the kind of life we want to live. But I do respect your opinion :)

human as we are, we cannot really predict the future. but even if we know the possible outcomes of what we are doing, we tend to do those things base on our present situation. for example, you know that if you won't get up in bed now you're going to be late and yet you stayed for 5 mins because you're so sleepy. my opinion

That's an interesting point of view and I agree that our nature dictates a lot of the decisions that we take. But still wonder if we wouldn't take better decisions if we knew the outcomes if those outcomes had significant impact?

This is what makes life so interesting.

I know right? :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87