Work -Life Balance - The difficulties

in #life6 years ago


Work-life_balance.jpg

Morning fellow Steemians.

This morning I am contemplating the reality of going back to work tomorrow after another round of school holidays. Now some punters out there might be thinking that I am complaining after having another 2 weeks off the day job..... But the reality is, it is very hard to regroup and refocus for another term of school.

As a job that uses mainly your brain power (rather than manual labour) it can be very draining and it is very important to find the work-life balance that is required to have a healthy mind and body.

I find it difficult as after a day at school, I then tend to need to do another 2-4 hours of work each night after my kids go to bed. Doing this on a weekly basis can get very mentally draining. This then tends to be reflected in a lack of exercise or a lack of finding time to exercise which then snow balls into being more tired (due to the lack of exercise) and late nights trying to get work completed!

This term I have decided to ensure that Thursday afternoons are my time..... That is, I leave work at a suitable time and dedicate this time to exercising. My large school has a very well stocked gym that I can access and use. I often like to get in there and do some weights and use the rowing machine, so this will be my aim on a Thursday afternoon this term.

Finding a balance between your life and work is a delicate thing and it is something that you need to find to be a well-balanced person. I find it the hardest thing to do during a school term and if I don't get it right, it impacts on the people around me the most. Sometimes I feel like I am running two lives and trying to juggle the demands of both can be very draining and difficult at times.

1-31.jpg

Thanks for reading!


Make Sure To Vote For These
Awesome Steem Witnesses!

DQmcRhugXJtKG9NtzBxvgVYr7YB5rg2Rvziokw7i8uU88fb.png


Come and join us in the Team Australia Discord Channel

Thanks to @ryivhnn and @bearone for the fantastic footers :)

Sort:  

I hear you and I don't even work outside of the house XD

My kids are not little anymore, but I still feel the same struggles! I work a full time day job and a part time evening job to make ends meet! I work 7 days a week! On the nights I don't work I'm usually visiting with my daughter and the grand kids or catching up on housework. I have very little to need "ME" time. It stinks...but I do what I gotta do.

Hmm, maybe you should switch to being a PE teacher?

Sucks though, but you're not alone. Lots of people seem to run out of time in their days to exercise cos of stupid work. It's good you're prioritising.

Too cold for surfing I'm guessing?

Shit no.... There are things called wetsuits and it is Qld after all..... It's finding the time again and the week is usually not possible.

It's reality

That is true.... But improvements can be made.

Congratulations @scooter77! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received
You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Final results coming soon

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11