Lesson 1: Cali, Colombia "The Power of Now"

in #life6 years ago (edited)

While staying at a Yoga retreat in Cali, Colombia I stumbled upon a book that changed my perspective on life. The retreat was in a beautiful location, up in the mountains overlooking the craziness of Cali, I needed to getaway for a little bit. I did the volunteer program where my tasks included cleaning the studio, tending the garden, and any other chores they asked. In return for this I got to practice Yoga with them every day, a comfortable bed, and three delicious vegan meals a day. One of the greatest gifts was picking up “The Power of Now” by Eckhart Tolle from their book exchange shelf. I had been on a backpacking trip in Peru a couple months prior and many of the people on my trip had been discussing this book. Including a man who had just finished an ayahuasca retreat who swore by it.

9786279_orig.jpg

Between Yoga and cleaning I began to read. This is the type of book that you need to concentrate on to reap the benefits from. I finally finished it a few weeks ago while staying at a friend’s house in Long Beach, CA. I savored every last word of that book. To just be, what a concept. To distance yourself from the ideas of time and space and to just live in the present is such a magical feeling. To be conscious and therefore in control of my mind, emotions, and choices has empowered me and changed how I approach life. To remove the ego and to accept what is, to remove yourself from negative pain bodies and identities. The lessons I learned in this one short book contain more power and gave me more clarity than anything I have ever read or studied. I highly recommend this book and often reread sections of it depending on instances that occur in my life.

3271-Eckhart-Tolle-Quote-Realize-deeply-that-the-present-moment-is-all.jpg

Here is the retreat I stayed at to anyone that finds themselves in Colombia looking for their next destination:

https://www.yogashramcali.com/

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem, @sfcsami!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2351 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.12 : Rewards Tab.

I had a friend in Long Beach, CA, too, and I was there, and this yoga retreat place is so beautiful, I am so jealous now hehe.

You definitely need to go visit it!

A warm welcome to Steemit. This is a great community and I know you will have a great time here.
I want to invite you to join the discord channel #steemschools https://discord.gg/TaZFW5r and we will teach and support you to grow in the Steemit Community. We can also help you choose the right topic to attract readers, to use the right tags to get more visibility, how to make quality posts and comments on Steemit, how to sell your products, business strategies and tips on how to make more money on Steemit and in life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10