What happens when you fall off a ladder at work!

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Well today was a helluva Monday! I get caught up in traffic and get to work a little late.

No big deal.... but still irritating.

I start flying around on pickups. It’s ok to start the day- all of a sudden I get a big order.

Time to shift it into overdrive!

I start up the big order. I have to walk up into the upper mezzanine to pick some parts. I have to get them up at the top shelf- I need to get a ladder to get them! I get the ladder. It’s already been extended so I just plunk it down on the ground to get the parts. I walk my way up the ladder, grab the parts, put them on the cart annnnnnnnddddd....

SMACK!!!!!!

I fell backwards from the ladder and fall on the back of my head and left elbow. I get back up immediately only to find out I’m bleeding from the back of my head!

YIKES!!!!

You just can’t shrug this off and get back to work!

I race to the washroom.

Oh geez- it’s bad! I look like a pro wrestler with blood dripping down my forehead and down around my neck. I can’t keep working like this.

My warehouse manager brings me to a medicentre. I need stitches.

OUCH

They freeze the back of my head and start stitching away. It still hurts like mad despite the freezing.

6 stitches total- I’ve worked this job for 15 years and never had much of an accident. I suppose I might have been overdue. I’m on light duties for the rest of the week.

1C584C40-0884-41B3-B4DC-56C10FC19C78.jpeg

The postitive? I don’t have a concussion. I never lost consciousness. The only problem is they might stick me on clean up this week. Man, do I ever hate cleanup- I may not be able to pick up any overtime, either. That’s probably $50 a day off my cheque after taxes.

Blah.

Well, I’m still alive. And healthy. And probably most importantly- AWARE. How many people have you known who aren’t well mentally because of brain injuries or they’ve picked up a disease like dementia or Alzheimer’s?

I’m counting my blessings.

Sort:  

Oh dude. Reading this story literally made me woosy, not sure if thats a legit word, but you know what I mean. Uncomfortable and uneasy.

Super glad to hear you didnt get a concussion, that can last weeks or a life time even.

Oh yeah. I had a concussion once. It wasn’t a fun thing to go through. My Dad got into some fights and a couple of bad car accidents when he was younger and you’re seeing how that’s affecting him now that he’s in his 60s.

Honestly, I’ve gotten hit a lot harder playing hockey. Only difference here is that while working, I’m not wearing a helmet!

Holy shit man, crazy to read! Stinks on missing money issues that arise because of it, but glad you are still alive, definitely could have been much worse.

How many people have you known who aren’t well mentally because of brain injuries or they’ve picked up a disease like dementia or Alzheimer’s?

Football players

I hope I don't get fired because of this reply

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30