Doing my okayest: ADHD meds and wishing well for others

in #life6 years ago

I finally have some ADHD meds that I can afford and seem to be working. It's not a best case scenario, but I'll take functional over depressed and anxious--my baseline for unmanaged ADHD. The journey has been so difficult to find meds that work without awful side effects (and currently I'm experiencing the same effects as the meds I switched from), I am considering going back to a ketogenic diet. However, I am a very smell sensitive person and keto eating definitely has a strong odor attached to it.

What to choose? An unwanted odor or brain functionality? I'm going to research ways to manage body chemistry changes (i.e. smells) and ketogenic eating. I'll do that while I'm on my new ADHD meds (Focalin).

You know what's frustrating here? Focalin is less smash through my system than Adderall. I know that if I could afford the extended release version I'd be in good shape, but I can't. So I have to take the immediate release which means upping my anxiety meds to compensate for the adrenaline spike in my system and counteracting my impulse to not eat.

Yep, I'm back there. I am so hungry right now, but I try to put food in my mouth and it's hard to swallow. These meds also give me a weird taste in my mouth. It's . . . Well, not ideal, but at least I have access to some type of ADHD intervention.

I have a friend who is clearly deeply impacted by ADHD but chooses to view it as an aspect of their creative personality. They refuse to pursue medication, and that's a fine option as they don't feel ADHD is interfering with them being their best self or accomplishing their goals. But I see how their creativity creates anxiety for them because they are unable to complete projects, get organized or start tasks. That's what I struggle with. On meds, I can get through those important tasks I will otherwise avoid until I am paralyzed with the knowledge they are on my list. One thing I love is that I do not have to take medication daily to get things done. I can sit with my unmedicated and wildly creative mind, or I can harness that energy and focus to stay on top of life.

I mention this because I see the potential for greater joy in my friend's life if they didn't have the barrier to clear thinking. Then again, what works for me is not going to work for everyone.

This post was brought to you by my need to clear my head so I can engage some trauma writing from a very wonderful student who (like all writing students) deserves my full, uncluttered attention. Do you do this? Write it out so you can let stuff in? Just curious.

I'd better be off. What's up with you today, Steemit?

Sort:  

Best of luck! I hope you can find a way to deal with the taste.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63746.34
ETH 3048.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97