In which I am voluntarily impaled

in #life6 years ago

My nose ring has been overdue for a change for weeks. The gems in it fell out long ago, but I lost my backup pack of nose screws. Today was the day. In a very seize the moment while trying literally anything to ease my migraine dash to a local piercing parkour, I had new jewelry installed. This is an interim hoop until I can find a bejeweled one I love.

image

The real reason I was there was the blasted cluster migraine that has been rocking my skull for the last week. My migraines onset with sudden shifts in air pressure (or exposure to raw red onions). A storm rolled through here last Tuesday that has had me mostly bedridden. A friend said, “Hey, you should try a daith piercing.”

I have never really thought much about piercings. I have the obligatory two holes in each ear from the 90s. At one point I pierced my own cartilage. Otherwise my nose ring is the “wildest” piercing I’ve gotten. But I really was willing to try anything to kill this migraine. So I visited my friend (https://Instagram.com/annietheimpaler) and asked her to pretty please stab a hole in my ear. She obliged.

image

If you have piercings, you can guess what happened next. Well, after my migraine went poof. Yep. It worked. Migraine gone.

Then came my thinking of other places to be impaled. Just like with my tattoos, I suddenly see my body as a canvas for art.

It will probably be awhile before I get another piercing. Sometime we’ll after the next portion of my tattoo. But it’s still fun to think about.

Where are you pierced?

Sort:  

No piercings or tattoos, but I am a fan of art, and yes, your body is a canvas of art for sure, totally agree.

So far I have three tattoos that play into a much larger work which will tell a story through my scars and stretchmarks. It's been a fun process to come up with the different pieces. The first three are an owlet in two stages of flight and then sleeping on my shoulder. The next session will add the owlet launching off tree branch on my rib cage. Then we will add the tree scene and river. I'm really excited about it!

Beautiful. Sounds like a never ending story branching off a magi beanstalk or tree or vine. What is an owlet? Is it like a baby owl? Love rivers. Sounds like a masterpiece in the making.

that beautiful

Thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63014.19
ETH 3071.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83