The Body/Mind/Food Connection

in #life6 years ago

image

Yesterday I ate in a way that did not serve my body. That’s okay. I ate in a way that served my mind. Grief is exhausting. The workouts at our gym have been exhausting. Parenting is exhausting. Every now and then I have to loose my grip on the reigns a little bit and let intuition steer.

Yesterday, I needed to eat. And eat. It was an action of comfort. And it wasn’t out of control. I knew what I was about, and I’m not letting myself feel bad for it.

Except my body feels awful. I was aware it would. It’s just that I’ve been eating close to my macronutritional goals for so long, my body was genuinely shocked by the extras I indulged.

Today I am within all my goals. I have my breakfasts, lunches and post-workout recovery snacks planned through Friday. This is important. On Saturday, my husband and I are participating in Fit for Our Fallen. We will be completing the workout “Murph.” It is a one mile run, 100 pull-ups, 200 push-ups and 300 air squats followed by a one mile run. That second run is what worries me. That andmy newness to toe push-ups.

In order to do my best, I need to feel my best. I am taking care of my body just like I took care of my mind.

Pictured above is two meals of salmon, green beans, cauliflower and blackberries.

How are you winning this week?

Sort:  

I had a day just like this, as well. But the next day I took control back over my mind and body. It may never be easy but it can be done with determination! Love this and the honesty! Parenting can be crazy at times. You will do amazing with this "Murph" workout! You got this!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82