When disability stands in the way of your best day ever

in #life6 years ago

My body wants to push harder and harder in every workout. I try to be patient with my asthma. It closes my chest before I’m even breathing fire, before I’ve pushed hard enough to feel the burn. I often feel like asthma stands between me and success.

This is inaccurate. I could claim asthma slows my progress, but the fact is my progress is apparent and amazing despite my disability.

Today I am asking myself how I can be grateful for being forced to slow down. I wanted to RUN today instead of jog. I wanted to fly through my pull-ups and pushups without the bog of heavy air in my lungs. And my muscles were all for it, if only I could catch my breath.

There are techniques for staying in control of the breath. I will learn them. The time before asthma wears me will grow. I will get to run.

Not every day will be my best day, but I will do my best every day.

Sort:  

I follow all your progress hon and you are amazing!!! But it is indeed important to listen to the "signals" we receive too. :)

Good thought friend!
Hie.. I'm a newbie.
Here is the link to my post. Upvote if you like the content. thanks!

https://steemit.com/psychology/@cherrythinks/a-menstruating-male

Get Upvotes from 350 members!

Join Our Community now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87