What does “be the light” mean to you ?

in #life5 years ago

AEEC3037-D3F2-48BD-B661-F152BA88F80F.jpeg

Being the Light
I read a quote the other day, which went something like this: “I decided to stop looking for the light and to become the light instead.”

The Idea
I thought about the quote and asked myself: “What does that mean to me?” To me it meant I should become the change I seek. We sometimes find ourselves looking at a problem and wondering when someone else will fix it. Perhaps instead waiting for “help” to arrive we should become the “help”.

The Application of an Idea to Life.
I was travelling yesterday and I noticed the line getting off the plane was moving very slow. So I looked ahead to see if I could see what was the problem. I saw that there was an elderly woman struggling with her bag walking up the ramp. I think everyone was expecting someone from the airline to show up and help the lady with her bag. But I don’t think any personnel saw her. We were waiting for help, but it wasn’t coming.
I looked at her and thought to myself that she was someones grandmother. Then it dawned on me that she could be my grandmother. So, I slowly moving through the crowd past people saying repeatedly “excuse me I need to help the grandmother”. People looked at me quizzically but they quickly yielded. As I made my way through the line and got beside her. I wasn’t sure what to say, so I simply said “Hello” and “How are you” to which she mumbled a short reply. And then not knowing what to say I said; You know in life sometimes even a strong man needs a little help with his burdens. Do you need any help with yours? She frowned and shook her head, but at the same time she pointed to one of the side handles and said “I can carry this, but if you want to help you can hold that handle”. Once I grabbed the handle she smiled and we made our way up the ramp. I smiled and felt like I won the lottery.

Reflection
My parents use to say that a car moves forward because energy and effort are applied where the rubber of the tire meets the road. In life as in physics, we solve problems by applying energy and effort where the rubber meets the road.

@shortsegments

Sort:  

It means somebody is into self help guru stuff or religion. lol

Hi
Thanks for checking out my post and thanks for the upvote!

46106716-EF08-4005-B042-6DBD619AC385.gif

be the light

Its a great random thoughts. It got me thinking that we need to do something sometimes. Being the light is like giving someone a hope. Hope in the sense that life gets better because there are still people who still cares.

Just like your example, lending the old lady a hand was a sweet gesture. Yeah she may not have need the help but surely she was a little amused the efforts you ahve made.

Sometimes small things counts. And it just create little effects as we do some random act of kindness to other people.

Thanks for sharing bud!

Steem on!

Posted using Partiko Android

ADB519D8-8F88-4369-B863-370D94FE3B48.gif

I really found this useful and inspiring, thanks!

22D75C6D-99E1-49E8-8689-889815831E9C.gif

Thank you @girmar for visiting my blog and for your kind comment.

Knowledge is Light ~ to not know is to be in the dark, while knowing enables energy to be put into practice ~ through the light of intelligence life grows and evolves ~ in its subtlest form the light of intelligence implements the will to live ~

I like your thoughts on the light. Thank you for sharing.
I will be Visiting your blog now.
Please follow my blog and comment as I upvote on communts

Sneaky-Ninja-Throwing-Coin 125px.jpg
Defended (5.79%)
Summoned by @shortsegments
Sneaky Ninja supports @youarehope and @tarc with a percentage of all bids.
Everything You Need To Know About Sneaky Ninja


woosh

Thanks!

You got a 4.26% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @shortsegments!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

Thank you
A691F66B-37F5-46DB-A19A-FA1E541170E3.gif

This post was upvoted by 80 accounts and @interfecto thanks to @shortsegments

@interfecto: Selling the cheapest upvotes on Steemit for just 0.001 SBD each! Send any amount 0.001-0.1 SBD with your postlink as memo to @interfecto to buy instant upvotes!

Thank you!

AF5998CB-D9EE-4588-934E-5D9ADB782E79.jpeg

A71DE76E-6DAF-4E4E-8B3A-F276453EBD36.gif

You got a 2.32% upvote from @oceanwhale courtesy of @shortsegments! Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @oceanwhale. Visit www.OceanWhaleBot.com for details!

Thank you for the upvote!

EBABF8B9-0BDA-4557-8D89-D14394E055AB.gif

Nice post ! You got 20.68% upvote from @flymehigh. Earn free sbd/steem daily by delegating(renting) your SP. We share high return, click here to delegate your sp to flymehigh if you don't know, how to earn passive income by delegating your SP click here for more info Join our discord You can promote your posts. Thanks.

887873A9-85D1-41C7-BEEA-B5D8BE9AB6A4.gif

Congratulations! By using @tipU service today you have won STEEM MONSTER Booster pack :) Please go to https://steemmonsters.com and login to claim your reward

More info about the @tipU STEEM MONSTERS lottery :).

60CAB828-59DA-4BBB-A092-69DC27CDAB64.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63014.19
ETH 3071.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83