A beautiful little parade in my neighbourhood!

in #life6 years ago

Today, when I opened my outdoor to start my daily walking around, I was really surprised to see a little parade in front of me ^_^ Some people in beautiful medieval costumes were walking on the street and there were also a couple of horsemen at the end of the parade!

You have to know that my city (Pistoia, Italy) has 4 different rioni (the districts) and every year, in July, there is an horse race called "Giostra dell'Orso" where every rione has some horse and horsemen dressed in the colors of the district. The most famous hystorical horse race in Italy is the Palio di Siena, but also our Giostra dell'Orso is very nice to see ^_^

During the year every rione raises funds organizing dinners and other events, so we can see some parades in Spring and Summer.

Te name of the discrict where I live is Leon D'oro (Golden Lion) and our colors are red and yellow. 

Here there are some pics that I took today:

I love so much to watch parade like this, because those costumes are really wonderful!

See ya soon

Silvia

silvia beneforti
Sort:  

I like your look and your clothes. this place its like my city

I am so jealous that you walk out your door and see such lovely ancient things as a matter of course. One of the reasons I long for Europe so often is the antiquity and old spirit. I do live in the oldest parts of the US, but that is still very young compared to Europe. We have parades as well, but they are mostly floats and people squirting water pistols and tossing candy and sweets to the spectators.

A few years back our little village, which is pretty old for USA as it was founded in 1639 by English settlers, had a 100 year old celebration and my niece and I were involved dressed in full Victorian finery of hoop skirts and silks. It was fun, but I wish they would do more ancient historical things.

I love so much Victorian finery and I would wear one of those beautiful dresses! Here it's common to see some parades in medieval or renaissance finery, but when I see one of them in the Summer the first thing I think it's "Poor people, those dresses are too warm for this season!" ^_^

Seems like the lady from the first photo wasn't really happy hahaha.
The costumes are fantastic, I find it very inspiring.

Thanks for sharing!

I think she was not so happy beacuse that dress is really too warm for this season :D

I've always been intrigued by Italian culture. I must visit Italy some day so I can I wake up to a view too

Many many years ago I ran across a similar parade in Florence.

In florence there are some parades really impressive! Many people in ancient dresses, horsemen and music, really a jump in the past.

What rich and beautiful costumes they are wearing @silviabeneforti. Like you were send to another century..and if there were no cars around I bet it would feel like that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87