A good and fresh salad of bread (a typical dish in my area ^_^)

in #life6 years ago

In those hot days, I like to eat smething fresh and, sure, many veggies. I'm lucky because my parents have a fruitful garden and so I can eat healty veggies for free ^_^

I want to give you a "recipe" (don't worry, it's just a sort of salad!) to cook something fresh for lunch or dinner.

It's a   dish that I like to cook when I have some pieces of bread left. This dish came from poor dishes of the farmer in the old time, when the bread left was too hard to eat.

You need some pieces of bread left, an onion (I use the scalogno, but you can use the kind of onion you favorite), a cucumber, some tomatoes and basil!

The "secret" is to leave the bread left for about 1 hour into the water, so it became soft. To prepare  this kind of salad you have to squeeze the bread (yes, like you sweeze your clothes when you wash them by your hands) and to make some little pieces of it. Cut all the veggies and mix them with the squeezed bread. Salt, pepper and a bit of olive oil. 

The name of this tuscan dish is Pan Molle or Panzanella and it's a great way to use the hard bread left ^_^

Well, it's time for pajama and the tv!

See ya tomorrow

Silvia


silvia beneforti
Sort:  

Thats so simple and so fresh and healthy! Thanks for that.

This is so fresh and good for this month's hot weather! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79