To each his own food ^_^

in #life6 years ago

Well, probably this is one of the funniest photos I've ever took! I was taking some pics on the garden of the father of my hubby when I saw a black bird who was in front of me. He was not so close to me, so I use my camera with the zoom to see him better. He was eating and when he looked at me he was a funny expression, he seemed to say me "Ehy, this worm is mine!".

I'm sorry for the worm, but it's the circle of life, right? 

Just few seconds and the black bird forgot I was there. He continued to search worms to eat and I had a simple thought: to each his own food!

Some years ago there was a tv show about the strange food that people eat in different parts of the world, but some of them were not so strange for me, maybe something we usually eat here in Italy might seems strange in oter countries. For example, one of the best food in my region is one of the traditional dishes in Florence: the lampredotto! Lampredotto is made using  the  final stomach of a cow. Yes, the most famous dish of Florence is just the last part of the stomach of a cow and it's really good, believe me! Here it's common, but maybe it seems a strange food for people who live in other countries.

So, I'm curious: in your country there is a typical dish that you think it might seems strange for others?

See ya soon

Silvia


silvia beneforti

Sort:  

In my native country, Canada, people eat a lot of McDonald's hamburgers. I certainly hope that seems strange for any country with civilized eating habits :-)

McDonald's hamburgers???? Maybe for someone might be a strange food (I also hope it ^^), but... ehm... here in Italy people eat a lot of them too. Me and my hubby have a different habits: we eat McDonald's hamburgers just when we are visiting a city in other country :P I know, it's not so good, but it happens :D Hugs from Italy and if you'll visit Tuscany I'll introduce you to Lampredotto ^^

very sweet bird 🐦 have a beautiful day, GREETINGS!

A beautiful day to you too ^_^

The Francoline , commonly called Bush fowl is common in the western highlands in Cameroon and are of different many species. Some endemic species of the area are Francolinus albogularis (White throated francoline) and Francoline squamus (Scaly francoline), Francolinus camerunensis (Mount Cameroon Trancolin)

Tauracco bannermani (Bannerman's turacco) is an endemic bird specie in the Bamenda highland and the red feather is often used for cultural activities, especially places in traditional caps. It is popularly known as the red feather bird.!
Bannerman's Tauracco.png

sorry, I don't understand your comment about birds. Those are birds that you eat in your country?

Congratulations @silviabeneforti! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The semi-finals are coming. Be ready!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

nice photography..

I'm sorry for the worm, but it's the circle of life, right?

You should have saved that worm!! What about the little worm kids? That poor worm probably had a wife waiting for him or her back at home, now who is going to take care of the family? Who is going to provide nutrients for the children!

So, I'm curious: in your country there is a typical dish that you think it might seems strange for others?

Not really...Maybe frog legs or snails... yeah, we eat snails, well to be more exact the rest of Portugal does, i don't like it but people seem to love eating snails with a cold beer

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27