Not how the world works

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Tonight there was a very pretty sunset and Mummy and watched from the window and counted the colours. There were lots but mainly, yellow, orange, red and purple. It wasn't the sunset pictured though, Daddy the photographer didn't take any tonight.

It took quite a while to set completely so I kept going back to check on it until it was dark and then asked Mummy,

"Can we watch it come back?"

She told me though,

"That is not how it works"

This upset me as I would have loved to have watched it come up again just to watch it set again. Counting the colours was fun and Mummy and Daddy liked watching it also. Imagine though, what if it was the way it worked? We could wish the sunrise and sunset whenever we chose.

What would happen if I wanted to watch 100 sunsets in a row while singing 5 little ducks and someone else wanted it to be midday, or midnight? I guess there is some sense to having natural laws of limitation on the things we want. I would have so many sausages otherwise... ooh and blueberries! I can eat blueberries now (but not too many at once) which is pretty excellent. They are delicious and sweeter than lingonberries. I still <3 lingonberries though.

But imagine, all the craziness that would go on if people could just get whatever they wanted as they would not know what other people wanted, it would get pretty messy. "I want a world full of kittens!" and someone else would scream "I want a world full of puppies!" and some idiot would say, "I want a world full of Kardashians!"

Then there would be the hipsters that would want stuff that no one else wanted just to be different. Someone will wish for "no mosquitoes" and some idiot with a too well groomed beard will wish for, "a world filled with mosquitoes."

You know the type, Douche.

It would be nice if one could have a small window each day where little wishes could be granted. Just little ones like an extra ten minutes in Mummy's lap or getting my belly tickled by Daddy while he tells me a story. Little things.

Everyone should get a little wish a day granted.
It should be the way the world works.

<3
Smallsteps

Sort:  

Well I 'wish' you a healthy, happy childhood filled with lots of pleasant memories. I hope Steemit stays long enough so you can review your write-ups in a few years little one

I hope it lasts til the end of the year :P

I know the letters now and I can say my ABC no issues and even had ELEMENOPEEE flowing so it isn't understandable. Reading is limited to my name and Mummy, Daddy and Viski the dog at the moment.

I would wish for... but then again... I would like a ... I wish reality was a trip to Poland?

A trip to Poland is a good wish to make at this time. Let's see if it is one of those 'careful what you wish for' events for me :)

You got a 51.62% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @smallsteps!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses

Hi @smallsteps!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.252 which ranks you at #8096 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 11 places in the last three days (old rank 8107).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 288 contributions, your post is ranked at #61.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33