Limited mobility | Unlimited stories: Starting a fitness experimentation adventure

in #life5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Limited mobility | Unlimited stories: Starting a fitness experimentation adventure


Dear reader - Steem has been renamed to Hive since May 2020. My content therefore has moved with me to Hive, and I hope to see you there: peakd.com/@soyrosa.

Sort:  

I suggest that doing anything is better than wondering if it's a max capacity or not. Trainers are helpful if you need the motivation or structure, but only you really know what your capacity is by listening to your body during the exercises. There are a lot of trainers who will simply tell you what to do and give you structure/make exercise more dynamic, but that doesn't mean they know what your max effort is. When you can't do anymore because you're winded or your muscles are burning... that's your answer... and if you keep pushing to that level, your body will tune up to meet the challenge and raise the bar.

I think the aquatics approach is a great idea if you have access to a pool for laps and can use weights underwater in the shallow end. Some of my best exercise memories when I was younger was swinging a baseball bat underwater and doing all sorts of rotational movements against the resistance of the water. There's partial body weightlessness in the pool, but weights underwater are harder to move, which is great to avoid some pain.

So many exercises can be done in a seated position, or with feet off the ground... you got this. Just need to start with something tomorrow and keep at it.

❤️ Appreciate the comment @steemmatt - all motivational words are welcome! Will find my way of movement, and I will also learn to accept my max capacity along the way.

Sounds like you've learned what your limitations are (Limited mobility | Unlimited stories: How far do you go?) I suggest doing less than you think in the beginning, endorphins can fool you. Let go of pride when doing what's best for your body...don't push through the pain.
I have been out of a life of on and off again pain for about 6 months now. I tried infrared lights and lasers. The therapist I went to takes care of our Olympic ice skaters use to travel with them. She is a student and believer of Norman Doidge M.D. information on rewiring the brain with light chapter 4. ( http://www.normandoidge.com/?page_id=1042
I think you will be successful. You have a nice variety of choices and your smarter now. May I suggest Taiko drumming or possibly African drumming for your upper body fun. I watched my friend's Taiko class and besides a good upper body workout, most of the time they are in the thigh burning stance waving sticks...just doing that will get your heart rate up.

Thanks for your comment @willowwisp, yes I learned a lot, but still underestimate some parts of what I can do :-) Doing less than I think I can do is a good tip actually and one I really need to hold myself to - I don't like 'slow' haha, but I need to learn to get that kind of patience.

Heath is a magical thing in pain relief, glad you found some solutions for your pains. I will definitely read up on the link you shared, thank you. Drumming as a form of physical exercise sounds good too :D :D :D

When i hurt my SI joints from too much yoga the wrong way (long story) i used to swim alot. You should DEFINITELY swim.

Pilates sounds like a great option for you... core work is a must. Yin yoga would be great for fascia and your mind and is all on floor... there can be foot stretches in there and one standing pose but you can skip those and modify.

Thanks for the encouragement and summing up a few lessons I'm indeed thinking might be best for me <3 I'm curious about what I'll find as great matches for my personal challenges! :-) Hope your SI joints are fine now?!

Yeah thank god.. 2 years of hell. Nothing compared to what you are going through! Xxx Healing vibes your eay x

I did surprise myself this week. Last Monday I had my first run in ages. And we all know that to start is the most important thing. But we also need persistence. So, yesterday there was no motivation at all, but still I did another run. That's 2 in a week!
Pretty proud on myself!
Hang in there!

cheers,
Peter

Ohhh - that's actually really good! It's hard to start, but it's harder to keep it going. Hope you find you feel so good afterwards it motivates you to do it semi-regularly :-) Enjoy!

Other classes I'm thinking of taking: different kinds of yoga (anxious about the standing parts and the parts where you need to lunge/stand on your toes)..

How people do this still beats me till now.,,.I think ya'll are from venus or something.

Anyway, I'm just curious, what kinds of sports or fitness activities do you do?

I walk a lot, though I don't consider myself to be totally fit, keeping fit as a challenge for me has to do more with time, I can't just seem to have enough time on my hands..or that's what my brain tells me.

I need more tiiiime...:'(

Haha, yes, yoga comes in many forms and it's too much for a beginner, so I guess I'm just going to try out classes and see which ones aren't too intimidating :D I'm not someone who needs to do a handstand in her life, but some health stretches sound really nice after sitting a lot on a couch!

And yes, I used to walk a lot too, it would still be my favourite form of exercise if I could still do it. I hope you find some time for yourself to get fit, it will have a ripple effect in the rest of your life <3

I hope you find some time for yourself to get fit, it will have a ripple effect in the rest of your life <3

I will try to be better...thank you

I think most humans need a little variety in their exercise unless they are in heavy training for a specific purpose.

There was a program produced out of the local PBS station in Spokane called "Sit and Be Fit". I'm just about sure that any gym or trainer can run up a series for limited mobility in most any case.

I've also wondered lately about a scooter device to improve mobility. A friend had a knee replaced and used this wheeled thingy to move around for most of a month...

It might prevent some recovery time?

Wow, that's actually a REALLY good one @bigtom13! I've been looking for something to help me around the house, but you're either on a sort of stool which is not convenient in the kitchen or indeed need something like crutches, which leaves you without hands to make coffee and such. This looks great :D Thanks for providing me with this lead!

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

You got a 24.75% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @soyrosa! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29