When I went to the hair salon I lost my hair and gained a story

in #life5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: When I went to the hair salon I lost my hair and gained a story


Dear reader - Steem has been renamed to Hive since May 2020. My content therefore has moved with me to Hive, and I hope to see you there: peakd.com/@soyrosa.

Sort:  

This is such a great story! Also, you're gorgeous no matter what. ;)

What a great post, lovely story and so well written. I really enjoyed it :-)

and the hair? Looks very sophisticated and rather elegant.

Take care always and don't forget that 'wild and messy' is fun too lol

Posted using Partiko Android

<3 Thanks, really appreciate the comment! And don't worry, the hair is never going to be like that ever again, it's all messy now :D

Women and our hair stories. I have a ton of them. I've given up and just cut it myself. Thank you Wild Messy Lady for yours. :-)

Haha - yes, I invite YOU to write your favourite hair story for us! <3

My husband rolls his eyes when I say I'm going to try again. I will tell you of one somewhat like the one you told. I was young, early twenties, just out of college and it may have been my first haircut. I always did my own. We were in Kansas City for some reason and I heard that some very famous Italian stylist was in town and would be at the new Crown Center, a big beautiful place built around a natural waterfall that my father helped build.
The stylist only spoke Italian, didn't let me watch while he's was cutting, and didn't really ask what I wanted. Anyway, he proceeds full speed snip snip snip, flips me around and I was so shocked I just burst out laughing. I looked like Felix the Cat with pointed bangs that went down my nose and above my eyebrows. the sides were also pointed out to mid cheek. Not much was said by either of us. I paid my very expensive bill, went home and cut all the points off and had what they called in the 60's "The Bubble".

Schatteke, wat ben jij een mooi, maedje :)

When I only try and think what these people have been through and what they have seen, I wonder over how they can still do the job they enjoyed doing back home...
You were saying in a comment “upstairs” that Europe is not doing all it can do to take more and help more... imagine that Romania has a labour force issue right now. We even started bringing Vietnamese in the construction sector. If you would ask one of these managers, that HAVE TO GO to such lengths as Vietnam to bring people in order to be able to satisfy the demand of work, to take in professional syrian workers, at least half of them would turn their back on you.
Europe has a big problem with tollerance especially in this “far East” line. We have to cope with the Russian influence that is fucking with the brains of the society as a whole. If you would only hear the nationalistic speeches of some of the politicians around here...

Wow - that's crazy. To get people from Vietnam but not those 'knocking at the door' so to say. There's a lot of fear and xenofobia going on with Syrian/North-African people, while I read that Syrians in general are quite highly educated - relative big amount speaks English too. It's a shame we can't give them a proper job. I know in the Netherlands it takes a long while before they can start learning the language, but when I had a job where I had to 'test' immigrants on their potential to learn Dutch they all told me they couldn't wait. Most people want to better their lives, it's just up to us to give them a chance...

Europe has a big problem with tollerance especially in this “far East” line. We have to cope with the Russian influence that is fucking with the brains of the society as a whole. If you would only hear the nationalistic speeches of some of the politicians around here…

This is a big fear of mine. Please go vote in the European Elections. I really believe this is one of the most important votes we can give... <3 Thanks for your in-depth comment @vonaurolacu!

What a fabulous story and how trusting of that woman! What an amazing act of kindness. I think your hair looks great!

Yes, there are still amazing people around willing to help no matter what! :-) Thanks @jayclar30!

It's always nice to hear those stories... I don't feel we hear them enough!

How very cool. A story within a story. Very nicely done. It's a wonderful story and the look is as you make it. If you like it, it's beautiful. If you don't like it, it is still very good.

Oh wow...what an interesting story, and story behind the story also !
kro5v5agy9.png

And you look really gorgeous on your photo, it is not that easy to trust a person for our hair...LoL...I always silently wish before the cut that the hair styler will just make me the hair cut that will best express what my inside is, that's all, and I have let go of a precise definition of the best cut, the best being for my cut to be in harmony with me 😉 😄

Oh wow - I really like your art @barbara-orenya! Gorgeous :D Thanks for your comment! I agree, hair should 'fit' ;-)

It makes you think. There are over 2 million Syrians displaced by war. Each must have their own story.

Very interesting tale of one persons journey that worked out ok.

I'm pretty sure he would have wanted to stay at home but sometimes the only option is to run.

Your hair looks very trendy, 60's style 🙆
U+R

Yes - an incredible amount of stories. Two years ago I went to the theater where 9 Syrians shared their story: in Arabic with some Dutch 'subtitling'. The story of their journeys here, by boat, losing people, the fear. It was incredible. And so empowering because they were telling the stories themselves. Even though they literally didn't speak our language.

The best thing about 'my hair stylist' is, 4 Syrians who had to flee too decided to 'aim for Holland' as well - since they know 'their old boss' would probably have a job for them in his new salon <3

I love how people are resilient and focused and powerful in times of great distress. I hope we'll hear many success stories and not just the sad ones.

Your hair looks very trendy, 60's style 🙆

Thanks! Fun how all styles at some point become trendy again eh? :D

I visited Lebanon last year. They have over a million Syrian refugees scattered all over the place in makeshift camps. Lebanon gets virtually no help from any other country but they keep going.

Many Syrians work in Lebanon but still live in Syria and some come and go home with the ebb and flow of the battle.

It is an astonishing way to live? But they keep going in spite of the problems.

It's difficult to film there as there are army checkpoints everywhere and it is forbidden for obvious reasons to film army checkpoints. It was very weird.

How did you end up in Lebanon? Do I understand you tried to film the situation over there?

The camps over there and also in Joran are gigantic, I've seen footage and it's incredible. And indeed, there's almost no help. Europe has build a nice invisible 'wall' between the continent and Turkey/North-African countries who are carrying the load. It's not something we can be proud of unfortunately :-/

These people who have to flee their country and try to make it work without help are troopers. Really. And to think that only a portion are able to 'make it'. Many people with illnesses, physical problems and many woman who are not taken seriously if they lost their husbands along the way are often left at borders and live in even worse circumstances.

To answer your first question. Yes I did film there. It was pretty hairy too having to drop the camera down and out of sight every time we came to a checkpoint.

I just acted like a dumb tourist (there are no foreign tourists in Lebanon) and got a few fleeting shots of the camps in the Bekaa Valley.

There had been a big battle a few weeks before and the place was full of tanks and troops moving about.

When the car suddenly stopped working on the the road to Baalbeck.

I made a fun video about it. It was super freaky. We were crapping ourselves.

The camps are massive along the road of the valley floor.

We were rescued by the kindness of strangers. A Lebanese petrol station owner came with his family to help us.

Crazy story @steemimages! I can imagine it must have been an impressive adventure, to be so close and yet 'so far'... I just can't believe there's people living in these camps for years on end. I once applied to go to one of those camps to give some art/photography workshops, but I didn't get an invite and still don't know if it is a huge missed chance or I should be lucky that I didn't have to go through that - a few weeks later I heard an area close to the camp was bombed :-/

<3 Maouh you are so beautiful :D

Hahahaha - thanks :')

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84