Pork is on God's List of Forbidden Foods

in #life6 years ago (edited)

It’s amazing how a discussion with another Steemian, on a totally different topic I might add, can morph into a whole variant of discussion.

As noted from the title, this post is about what the Holy Bible says about foods, particularly meats that are deemed clean and unclean, according to the Creator God Himself.

In addition to the post by @ aloha-creations, I’m feeling pulled to write this post more so about how I deem pork one of the unhealthiest foods a person could feast on. I remember a marketing campaign calling pork, the ‘other’ white meat; as, in comparison to the healthiest/leanest part of the chicken being the white meat.

When I first heard this commercial years ago, I cringed in awareness that it is the antithesis of everything Scripture.

In my 20s, I was blessed with firsthand awareness that uncured pork could land me on bed rest with a debilitating headache. My mother could cook a perfect Sunday roast. It didn’t take long on realizing the negative affect a couple slices of this meat would cost me. And, it became an easy no-brainer deciding between 5-star roast or an excruciating headache. I had to bear with her disappointment that I wouldn’t eat the pork roast.

Now, I’ve eaten my share of pork chops in brown gravy through the years; and consider them heavenly with a side of yams, greens, cornbread and seasoned rice. That’s not to say I will never, ever eat this meal ever again. If this is what a guest or host/ess put before me, I wouldn’t call something unclean which Jesus calls clean (Acts 10:15).

But, the odds of me putting a tray of pork chops in my basket, prolly not…again, the hypocrite in me has to preface this fact…probably not.

I am by no means the food police. If bacon crumbles are available for a salad, chances are I will enjoy them. If I get a yen for a blt, then that too, will I enjoy.

This is one of the hardest posts to write; because, I have to speak the truth in love regarding what the Word says; while feeling like a hypocrite; because given the rare hankering for baby back ribs leaves me giving thanks for such a treat.

That said, beef ribs are far more to my delight as I’ve grown up; though, dropping a slab of baby backs in the crock pot to tenderize, and smoke a few minutes on the pit, isn’t out of the question….Oh, the non-judgmental hypocrisy of life!

Many argue that the Old Testament (OT) teachings were absconded in the New Testament (NT), as Jesus died on the Cross to forgive us our sins.

I’m one of those people who believes that God is unchanging; and, thusly, so is His Word. If He made this a TRUTH in the OT; then, since the human design hasn’t changed since the earth was formed "In the Beginning", then this WORD is TRUTH for all times (Genesis 1:1).

Without further ado, let’s look specifically at Leviticus 11:1-8.

The LORD said…

‘Of all the animals that live on land, these are the ones you may eat: 3 You may eat any animal that has a divided hoof and that chews the cud. 4 “‘There are some that only chew the cud or only have a divided hoof, but you must not eat them.

(See discussion below for why I have to retract my post with @aloha-creations.)

The camel, though it chews the cud, does not have a divided hoof; it is ceremonially unclean for you. 5 The hyrax, though it chews the cud, does not have a divided hoof; it is unclean for you. 6 The rabbit, though it chews the cud, does not have a divided hoof; it is unclean for you.

(Here again, a need to discuss/rethink my post with @aloha-creations.)

And, now, for the specifics of pork; in regards to this post:

7 And the pig, though it has a divided hoof, does not chew the cud; it is unclean for you.

8 You must not eat their meat or touch their carcasses; they are unclean for you.

It doesn’t get any clearer than that, believers of the Word of God. If the land animal has a split/divided hoof AND chews the cud it is an acceptable meat.

Examples of “clean” animals include the bison, cow, deer, goats and lamb/sheep.

However, studying this Scripture makes me retract any recommendation of eating the meats of squirrels, rabbits, and the ‘exotic’ nutria.

While nutria eats only vegetation, it does not have a split hoof. It has the huge feet of a rat which excludes it from the approved directives of Father God. I am so cool with it; because, really…Have you ever seen one of these bad boys?..Rme…Omgoodness.

In addition to the tabooed swine, God would include cats, dogs, bears, and horses. I know in some countries these are acceptable animals to feast on. In the U.S., thankfully the feline, canine, and equine are most likely deemed pets, with the horse sometimes used as a farm animal that is put down in the most honored of ways when that time comes.

So, it’s a case of Spiritual conscience for the believer whose culture regards eating ‘forbidden’ animals; in contrast to “thus saith the LORD”.

The beauty of living life with a continuous mind’s eye on the Word of God allows one the reminder that ‘free choice’, which God gives each of us, is a good thing as long as it aligns with God’s Truth.

Remember, He created us; and, to live/partake of foods that He deems unclean, on a frequent basis without regard for His admonitions, is like staring Him squarely in the face without care for the consequences. And, beloved, anyone who has ever suffered the ill-effects of eating foods, particularly swine, will tell you the consequences are not only real; but, far from worth it in the long term.

Of course, one might wonder why God even created swine besides muddling in the mud all day. After a little thought I was reminded that the hide of the pig is great for making footballs, and the fat is good for the flakiest of pie crusts. It cannot said that the swine has no purpose. In fact, here’s a post detailing over a hundred uses for this mammal.

185 Uses For the Pig

I will end this post here; and, discuss what God says regarding dining on sea creatures and fowls of the air in future posts.

SOURCE

Btw, here's the link to the totally unrelated post which sparked this discussion:

A Raven's Cry

Best regards.

Peace.

Sort:  

Wait i didnt post about all that?? I just did a post like 5 mins ago with baby pigs. You did this post 18 hours ago haha did i miss something?

Lol…thus, the need for the opening statement!!!:

It’s amazing how a discussion with another Steemian, on a totally different topic I might add, can morph into a whole variant of discussion.

It seems the synergy is riding very high on the platform about piggies…lol…

@oldtimer has recently released another great post on farm animals. Here’s his link:

https://steemit.com/photography/@oldtimer/farm-animals

Best regards!

Peace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17