Don’t Think You Are Worthy Of Trust Because You Are You

in #life4 years ago

You can break my bones, my trust, my heart, but you can't break my abs;)

71276136_2140433289591872_6557023306904502272_n.jpg

Favoritism at its best. Being me makes me trustworthy! Swallow back your conceit for a sec and step away from your biased lens. Any means is a justifiable one when it comes to deluding ourselves that we’re good people. Being a therapist doesn’t make you automatically worthy of trust, just like going to the church every Sunday doesn’t mean you’re not a lying piece of shit on the way back home. Trust has to be gained and preserved, and the label on your name tag isn’t enough to provide just that.

Admitting to ourselves that were perhaps not as awesome, unique and brilliant as we think we are is simply out of question. We will invalid every threat that jeopardizes our imagined sense of goodness, reject any critic that doesn’t feel right to us, and push away anyone who doesn’t see us as the good and genuine person that we think we are. Because hey, we’re the shit and we know it.

People are only as trustworthy as they want you to believe. Trust is expensive, therapists are the living proof. Pay me 130$ an hour, and I’ll promise I’ll bring all your deepest secrets to my grave. Now take out the $ out of the transaction and wonder what does one have to gain out of it? You think human beings love to do things just for the sake of it? We may be slaves to the Pavlovian bell, but so long as the reward still comes our way.

Sort:  

Congratulations @steemityourway! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 500 posts. Your next target is to reach 550 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I used to have abs when I was young. I guess I still do. They're just hiding under some pudge lol.

"...just like going to the church every Sunday doesn’t mean you’re not a lying piece of shit on the way back home."

Ha! Truth.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77