Success Is Living In The Now

in #life5 years ago

sabri0.jpg

Another post dedicated to one of my favorite words of the English language. Success, where ya at?

In my books (it’s ok babe, you’re allowed to read different books), success isn’t what shitty pop culture posts makes it out to be. It isn’t about sitting on an increasingly huge pile of $. It isn’t about hustling like a mother ******. But then again, according to the very reliable and wise metrics of society (please sense my sense of sarcasm here), success is just that.

Well hey, if that is the case, then I can admit that I’ve been around some of these individuals during my lifetime. And while to the external world they may be looked upon as gods (seriously, what’s up with idolizing human beings?), in the confines of their personal lives, it was another story. I nonetheless find it fascinating how people hold labels in such a high regard.
"You can’t sit with us, bitchhh. "

To quote the very wise words of my friend (who works in the field of law) "I don’t care you make a million a year. When you take a shit, it stinks as much as everybody else’s shit. " When she said those words, I was deceased. Yet I couldn’t help but think wow. she nailed the s*** out of this!

david.jpg

We’re addicted to everything but the Essential.
And what’s the essential? The essential is Now. The present moment. It’s all you’ll ever have. Your life is in fact an accumulation of present moments. Yet how often could you claim that you fully live in each of those moments? By fully I mean that your full, complete and undisturbed attention is focused on what’s happening now. Not on the five new likes your Facebook profile pic just got.
Stop multitasking. Start living.

We’re obsessed with stroking each other’s egos. Have you ever been to one of those networking events or whatever other event where the whole goal of the night is to be as fake and as classy as possible? Have you ever found it funny to think that all these human beings have made the effort to show up to the event, yet nobody in the room genuinely cares about what other people have to say but what they say themselves? We should call those events stroke-my-ego-bitchhh.

This is incredibly hilarious, yet incredibly sad. We suck. Big time.
I think I may be listening too much to Allan Watts and now I’m starting to feel amused at everything about life.

No but for real. What if X hundreds of years ago, society had decided that success was going to mean kindness. In other words, you would have been considered a " successful" person if the majority of your daily actions were oriented toward kindness.

Hey, maybe we would still be stroking each other’s egos and comparing how much kind deeds so and so did, (because we seem so compelled to engage in that superficial stuff) but at least we wouldn’t have put the chase for more wealth, fame, status and power at the center stage of our lives. Chasing kindness sure does seem like a better idea than chasing " success" -whatever that means.

Sort:  

It's not pimpin deez hoez? lol jk

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87