The Love Of Wisdom #MeditateWithSab

in #life6 years ago

''This is the real secret of life — to be completely engaged with what you are doing in the here and now. And instead of calling it work, realize it is play. '' -Allan Watts

BeFunky-collage.jpg

Can you name them? 🙊 🍀

I have so much love and appreciation for wisdom.
The pursuit of wisdom.
I love to learn, and I find that the more I read, the less I know.
I try my best to learn something new every day.
As I also try my best to unlearn something every day.
Makes sense, right?

Did you know that the original meaning of the word ''philosophy'' comes from Greek roots and stands for love and wisdom?
''Philo'' ➪ love
''Sophos'' ➪ wisdom

No wonder why my philosophy teachers were the most fascinating humans I have ever met!

The more I speculate on the big questions of life, the less answers I find.
I can never seem to get enough of it.
It’s like a treasure hunt, but with no end.

As the mathematician Blaise Pascal said:
''All men seek happiness. This is without exception. Whatever different means they employ, they all tend to this end. The cause of some going to war, and of others avoiding it, is the same desire in both, attended with different views. The will never takes the least step but to this object. This is the motive of every action of every man, even of those who hang themselves. ''

The writing may sound very direct, but I believe it describes extremely well human nature, as we are all aiming for the same ultimate goal that is happiness.

And as I think that happiness can have as many meanings as human beings on earth, one of the most difficult truths to accept is that just like any blissful meetings, moments, or experience in life, the euphoria and happiness it brings, fades with repetition.
(Blame it on hedonic adaptation baby!)
The first kiss, the first I love you, new car, new job, new lover…. doesn’t feel the same way after a while.
So how do we beat the odds when they work against us?

joseph1.jpg

(Showed this quote to my friend yesterday and he was like yeah sab the issue with all these deep quotes is that it's all fancy words and such, combined with vague explanations... Ok do I give him a point here 😿 ❓ )

God knows!

Maybe that’s an unconscious reason as to why I started my meditating journey.
I guess that I realized that the only type of happiness that can resist to any life event or circumstance, is my inner equilibrium.

I remember Allan Watts often said that the cause of suffering is because men desire.
So then, a student asked him that the answer to that problem is to stop desiring.
But the act of stopping to desire is a desire itself.
See?

Is life merely a hoax?

I don’t have a clue.
But I’m prepared to learn.
I’m prepared to keep on asking questions every day.
I think that we have so much to learn from other people.
No one is born with wisdom.
It’s something that is available to us all, only if we are interested enough to listen to others and seek for it.

There is no greater teacher than life experience itself.
School is an amazing path (as I am myself enrolled in it), but it is far from giving us all the answers we need in life.
In fact, the system failed to teach us the fundamentals.
How to be kind.
How to build self-esteem and express healthily our emotions.
How to develop mental strength.
How to develop emotional and social intelligence skills.
How to build and sustain relationships.
I could go on and on….
But most of all….
How to live….
How to survive, how to thrive, in today’s extremely competitive world.

Knowledge is amazing….
But having a diploma is not enough to master life's greatest challenges.

Wisdom can be our guide to overcome life’s difficulties.

I listen with an open mind, and love with an open heart.
Some of the smartest people I’ve met in my life had a high school diploma, and some of the ''non-so-smart'' ones (trying to remain polite here) had PhD’s. Of course, it does not apply to everyone, but my biggest wish is that we let go of the labels for a while, and remain humble, no matter what our status is, what car we drive and so on.

I absolutely love this quote by Jim Carrey, as I think it is one of the most absolute truths in life. 🔮 💯

jim1.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83