Life On A Flood Plain

in #life5 years ago

flood-plain.jpg

Hello Steemian, I was going somewhere today and we went past a flood plain which had a lot of houses built on it. We went by a river before the settlements and it looked like it some times overflows it's bank on a regular basis.

Life can be hard sometimes I thought to myself, I know i'll be worried if I was the one living in these areas. I'll be thinking every time about my situation any time the rain falls. The thought of one day waking up and seeing floor water has already reached have way in the building.

flood-plain2.jpg

Why would someone choose to live here, I sometimes ask myself when I see these type of settlement. The answer you always get is that there is no other alternative. It is not a choice these people are happy taking, they are risking the life of their wife, children and all family members. But what can be done? I am not a politician, but I hear them promising housing for all and all search promises just to get the commons man vote. But at the end of the day, nothing is done, the rich keeps getting richer while the poor keeps getting poorer.

flood-plain3.jpg

I guess that's the way it goes for the man on the streets. I wish they know about steemit, it'll help them tell their story themselves, they can even embark on projects that will be of relief to them and their family members. I have seen some projects doing good for communities using the steem blockchain through steemit and believe it is possible.

Hope you like my post, please upvote it and keep your comments coming in and I'll respond to them. Thank you.

Sort:  

Congratulations @steemturbo! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thanks a lot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73