Devotions Exodus 16 - 17

in #life6 years ago

Have you ever heard of the line "Give us this day our daily bread" from the Lord's Prayer?

I've prayed that prayer many times without realising its significance until I read Exodus Chapter 16 & 17.

The Israelites were slaves to the Egyptians for many years and God rescued them and were guiding them to the promised land. On their journey, they grumbled in the desert saying "If only we had died by the Lord's hand in Egypt!" (Chapter 16 verses 2-3). Even though they had the Almighty God on their side!

I mean, this is the same God who parted the Red Sea for them and yet they still couldn't trust God to provide food for them. So God rained down bread from heaven and gave them quail to eat in evening but told them to only gather what they need for the day. They didn't NEED to gather anymore than they needed for the day, because God was providing them with their DAILY bread. Yet, did they listen? No, some of them kept their food until the morning but by then it was full of maggots.

I think about the Israelites and realise that I am not much different from them. How many times has the Lord answered my prayers? How many times has He delivered me? Yet I still don't trust Him for His daily provisions.

God has a pretty good track record.

Dear God,

Help me to put my trust in you. Everyday.
You've provided for the Israelites and I know you will also look after me.
Sometimes your provision or your timing doesn't suit me, remind me that you know best and you're in control.

In Jesus name I pray, Amen.

Sort:  

Nice short devotion! Good food for thought. Can also tag #steemchurch haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87