Springtime of my Soul, or, Glad to Be Alive

in #life5 years ago (edited)

nature-3103701_1920.jpg

Last week I had some of the worst pain that I've ever experienced in my life.

Having lived with Lyme disease for as long as I can remember, I have a high pain tolerance--I can handle a lot. In fact sometimes I'm not even sure how to rate pain severity, because I'm so used to it that I don't even know what's normal and what's not anymore.

But there have been a few times in my life when the pain has been so strong that cutting my own head off actually seemed like a logical solution... for a moment at least.

Last week I was suffering from TMJ--Temporomandibular joint dysfunction. Basically it's when the joint where your jaw attaches to your skull is out of place.

I had gone to the dentist the week before and gotten a couple of fillings, and apparently they made my bite uneven, which threw off the whole equilibrium of my face.

That's what the doctor told me, when I came home early from work thinking I had an ear infection, like the one I had last year that landed me in the hospital.

I couldn't tell whether the pain in my teeth was causing the pain in my ear or vice versa, but I had felt that my bite was wrong since I'd come home from the dentist, so what he said made sense.

I came home and took the pill he'd prescribed me, cushioning it with some food.

sad-505857_1920.jpg

And then the red waves of pain and dizziness washed over me again, roaring, crushing, smashing my existence. I sank to my knees beside my bed (why does great pain physically force you to your knees?), holding the cool aluminum of my laptop against my face, and breathing with every breath, Oh God, oh God...

I imagined what life would be, trapped inside this tortuous prison, if the pain didn't stop. I prayed to die, that God would take me. I didn't want to live like this.

And then slowly I realized that the pain was letting up, that I could handle it again.

I don't remember the next few hours clearly. I know I went and found a different dentist and made an appointment for later in the day.

As the appointment was drawing closer, I started getting really worried, because the medication would run out about an hour after I got there, and I didn't want to be lying helpless on the dentist chair with that kind of pain roaring through me again.

I decided to risk it rather than taking the dose early though. The dentist took some X-rays and then filed the fillings down. She said that maybe I was clenching my teeth at night and needed to wear a big plastic thing to keep my teeth apart while I slept. I didn't really believe that was the problem, because I never wake up with clenched teeth.

"But why is this happening now?" I asked. "I never had this problem before."

"Well, you know," she said, "you're getting older..."

And I was like...

268.gif

Later, looking more closely at the X-ray, she said that the pain could have been from the fact that one of the fillings was super close to my nerve, and that I might need a root canal.

I agreed to come back in one week, hoping that no further work would be necessary.

And then I realized that even though it was time to take another pill, I wasn't feeling the pain again. I didn't take it and I went to bed, wondering if the pain would wake me.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

The next morning I woke up and realized I had slept through the night, and that the pain was gone!

I felt so immensely grateful to be alive, so glad that my body was holding itself together, no matter how feebly and imperfectly, to sustain this existence called life.

I felt cleansed, like all the stuff I'd been worrying about lately didn't matter. That I could see clearly what mattered and what didn't, at least.

girl-843076_1920.jpg

I got up and went outside, and the world wore a new face...

That white-speckled pigeon that looked at me sideways and made me laugh. The beads of condensation shimmering on the tap in an open-doored bar I passed. The resident gypsy (?) musician outside the park, belting his ancient harmonies as his fingers flew across the guitar strings. The passer-by who, perhaps absently, snapped his fingers to fill in for the castanets. The heady smell of new leaf growing...

It was mine, and I was part of it, all this beauty. Because I was still alive in this world.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

On Monday when I went back to work, a coworker or two asked me how I was doing, since I had taken a sick day.

I knew they wouldn't believe me when I told them I had prayed to die, and they didn't. They laughed, because don't people always say such things? Don't we always exaggerate?

But I knew I had really meant it. And I knew furthermore that I had received a kind of baptism through this experience.

There have been so many times in my life when I have wanted to die, when life didn't seem worth living, even when I was a child. When I was young, I used to wake up in the morning and quickly try to think of a reason to be glad for that day, something particular about it that made it different from the rest, so that I would want to get up and live it.

Then the dark days came, where there was just nothing, when the only relief from the darkness was sleep itself.

And even later, when things got better, I would struggle against that black hole, depression, as it sucked me into its depths. I would hold on to that one thing that made me happy without trying, treasure those moments when I felt beauty, because they were so rare and far between.

But to actually feel glad to be alive, not that I'm just finding a moment of happiness to block out the darkness for a moment, but welcoming the light as it shines in, that was new, and it was important.

I'm glad to feel glad to be alive.

The face of all the world is changed, I think,
Since first I heard the footsteps of thy soul
Move still, oh, still, beside me, as they stole
Betwixt me and the dreadful outer brink
Of obvious death, where I, who thought to sink,
Was caught up into love, and taught the whole
Of life in a new rhythm. The cup of dole
God gave for baptism, I am fain to drink,
And praise its sweetness...

~ Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Sonnets from the Portuguese, 7

Sort:  

I'm so sorry that you had to go through such pain recently. Tooth pain is horrible and it makes you completely shut down. I'm glad that it's gone and that you can enjoy the beauty of life again.

You seem to be a strong person and I'm sure that you'll win the fight with your demons! Stay strong!

Thank you for sharing and I wish you many painless days :)

Congratulations on your curie vote!

Thank you so much. :)

I am glad you're feeling better now. It reminds me of the way I felt last Summer ( after what was probably water poisoning ). I don't think it came close to your pain but I felt I couldn't heal it myself and felt I not going to a doctor would just be foolish.

After the pain was gone ( I needed an infuse with a cocktail of salt, water and other stuff for it), I had the best night of sleep in years.

Um abraco desde Portugal!

Thanks, Vincent. Yeah, I know you had a pretty rough time last year with that stomach thing. :(

¡Un abrazo desde España!

I can even begin to imagine what you've been through. I know what tooth and ear pain is and also know it's not pleasant at all. The pain is radiating and your whole head hurts. I'm so sorry you had to go through that but good thing you're all right now. I used to have biliary pain and often felt that if I make a cut to release the pressure it would be way better. of course i would never do that, that's just a thought caused by pain.
Living with constant pain makes you tougher but it can be tiring and stressful. i wish you fast recovery and painless days.

That is so true. I imagine biliary pain must be awful. :( Wishing you good health!

Thanks for reading. :)

Depression can be a thousand-headed monster. I'm glad you had this transformative experience. I guess only after having experienced "hell" we can have a sense of appreciation of what can be "heaven".
And now you know that heaven can come in common containers, such as light or water. Those feel and taste better when we have been deprived of them.
I've suffered toohaches, migrane, and kidney pains (the last two I'll deal with for good) and I know how it feels. I knowcked myself out once banging my head against the wall because of a kidney stone.
Wish you a stable, pain-free, happy life

I'm so sorry you've gone through so much pain. I hope that you can find some solutions that work.

Thanks for the comment and for understanding. :)

I hope you're doing fine now and for the years to come.

Pain is actually a saving power as I would describe it based on my faith, knowledge and experience.

When we're wounded we feel pain because that pain tries to save that wound to its complete healing.
How does that pain in the wound saves?
Of course when we feel pain we look for remedies and that would save the wound.
When I got cut in my finger, I just feel the pain until its gone, then leave the wound and after a few days the wound was gone.
Sickness and long intense pain might be different in some ways but for me, you're one of the few lucky person who experience that.

Your joy is too much compared to people with less pain in life.

Thanks, Ronel. :)

What a fitting poem at the end.. looks like nothing new under the sun - our existence is such that we only grow and progress through hardships and are spoiled brats resting on laurels when everything is going our way! Is it not so? I hope you remain happy! 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi stephie.spicer,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you so much!

Congratulations @stephie.spicer! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1750 upvotes.
You received more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

For many, love is ephemeral, for others it is savage; only some achieve the perpetuity of love. That being loved, that feeling reciprocated; and then, the loss. Blessings to you and your family.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85