Street EncounterssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

555.jpg
In the shadows of the lonely highway, I saw the memoirs of my life – my dreams, the people I love, the golden moments and everything in between. I sighed as I lost the sight of my mother who was bidding her goodbye to me.

“I am finally living my dream. I’m finally making a life of my own.” With all the courage, I tried to conceal the fear and doubts in me. For a moment, I asked myself of what path should I really take. The road is way too long and the end of it scares the hell out me.

“What if I fail?” said my inner turmoil. I then shook my head as I tried to erase all the anxiousness in my veins. I have to keep my senses. It was a lovely mixture of now or never. I’ve been longing for this for quite some time and there’s definitely no taking back.

Leaving home was something I really wished to do since can’t remember when. I knew I am so much more than what other people think of me. I have better things to offer and I am so much more capable than the standards they are giving me.

The three-hour ride was deafening. It was calm and silent. Beeps from cars were only heard plus the mellow music from the radio. Thoughts were seriously running in my head. A crumple in my heart tensed me up a little bit more. From the moment I stepped into this journey, I knew that I’d be leaving home; I’d be leaping out of my comfort zone – away from my loved ones, away from the usual routes I take to go home, away from friends, away from the clichés that life has been offering me since 1993.

It was pretty unusual for me to do things alone. But this was what I wanted. I can’t lose this fight.

I stepped out of the bus. I saw busy people on the busy streets. It felt strange knowing that I am on a distant place. This choice was a gamble of luck.

I had to ask for directions. Some people would help, others would not. They’d refuse to teach you what to do because that’s how cruel life is. We live in a world where instead of imploring aids to one another, we tend to compete with each other. It was awful for me. I learned how life beats you up until you’re weak. I was an alien to this fast-paced city. I was a perfect epitome of a boy from the province who invaded the concrete jungle.

Nine in the evening and it was starting to rain. I was getting soaked. The shoes that I’ve been extra-diligent on were covered with mud splashes. Jeepneys are loaded; taxis won’t let me in because my destination was farther than their usual route. I started to get pissed. My stomach was starting to grumble. I looked at my purse and I’ve got about 4 bucks left. I had to endure the hunger. I sat on one of the benches as I tried to calm my head. All I wanted was to get myself some sleep after a long day. I felt a gentle tap. It was like a wakeup call to me that when the world’s against you, it’s the perfect time to actually humble yourself and give extra patience. I stood up and waited.

Luckily I found my way to my new home. It wasn’t as comfortable as I hoped it to be but it was better than living on the cold streets. I stared at the ceiling and realized how I miss home. Missing home was an instant learning to me that to be better, I got to miss a bit of my safe haven.

I always ask myself why I wanted this. It remained to be a puzzle until I realize that I am being lead to a greater sight – and that is to find the real purpose of my existence. I may have not known it yet but as I lived on my own, I have developed a good habit and that is to keep daily records of good things about life.

Little experiences like these give me valuable lessons. Everyday encounters are life’s way of reminding us to make ourselves better.

Funny may it seem but it’s a standard operating procedure that when life gives you lemons, you gotta make lemonade. Growing up and sailing my own ship are truly nerve wrecking but calm seas won’t make me a skilled sailor.

I hope that whenever anxieties, sadness, doubts, problems and hate enter our lives, we’ll learn to convert them into something that would make us better persons.

Leaving home, making a life on my own… I will surely back to where I belong when I’m already a better person than I was when I left.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @stewpeed! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Is it okay if I resteem my old post?

Thank you for Sharing

Welcome! Good day to you sir.

This is very relatable to me. I left home 3 months ago to pursue my studies. Although I'm still depending on my parents for my expenses, I'm living far far away from home. The journey takes about a day to get home which is exhausting. I haven't seen my family even once since I came here.... And the anxiety and discomfort you feel when you step out of your comfort zone, the loneliness when you cannot hug your mom and tell her about your bad day, when you're surrounded by people who have less than nothing to do with you.... it cannot be explained with words. I was scared... I AM scared. But I'm sure I'll continue to grow and become a better person. And I'm sure one day I'll be able to make them happy and support them like what they've been doing for me.

More power to you Sir. You can make it, good luck to you Sir.

Thank you for Sharing,
Hope you love famous quotes,
from Forrest Gump : Life is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re going to get.

Thanks, Yes I love famous quotes. :D

Intresting & nice black & white

Thank you risansa :D

My inner voice is probably my greatest nemesis. Block your ears and follow your heart.

Congratulations @stewpeed, this post is the most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 2118 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $303.61. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Thank you so much! Wow I did not expect I would go this far sir. Thank you for appreciating my work :D Just wow.

@stewpeed thank for the information keep posting

Welcome, thank you for dropping by here sir. Good day!

Wow! This was a thought provoking post and reminded me of the emotions I had when I became a mom. I felt like the old life was no longer real and I was often wearied by the new life that lay ahead of me.

Now that my children are adults, I feel the same uncertainty. Now I have to find a new way of living life. It's no longer predicated by someone else's needs. It's odd and new and uncertain.

Thanks for sharing, I will stand and wait. Your posts will have great value on Steemit, I look forward to more.

@ stewpeed , It's a nice story, we all have been there in one point of our life. It makes you stronger and better, just don't get bitter. upvoted you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29