Keep in Touch

in #life5 years ago

Most people who meet me probably think of me as a 'social butterfly'. I'm lively at parties, often excessively so, and from the outside eye, I seem to strike up a conversation with the ease akin to slicing butter with a hot knife.

What these onlookers, or active participants might not realize is that I'm really more of an introvert than an extrovert. What comes off as gregarious and what some have told me is "a skill", is actually something that has taken years of effort and practice to get to.

But just as the tiger can't change his stripes, unobserved and out of the public eye, I automatically revert to my default modus operandi.. The truth is, I'm more of a wallflower than a social butterfly and one of the things that I'm really bad at is Keeping in touch


src

No, not with reality.. well, maybe a bit.. but that's not what I'm talking about. I'm talking about that thing you say to someone you haven't seen in awhile and probably won't see for awhile afterwards.. "..Let's Keep in touch!"

Ever since as long as I can remember, before the advent of smart phones and grandmothers on facebook, I've been horrible at staying in touch with people. Amazing people who I've met traveling, high school pals and college mates. Ex-girlfriends, old roommates, even my own family (extended and direct).. Numbers are scribbled on a scrap piece of paper and shoved in a pocket, stored preciously in a box that never gets opened. Email addresses are saved, but only spam fills the inbox, probably because of 0 sent messages.


src

Now with the advent of pervasive social media, particularly FB, I have no excuses. I get messages urgent and causal alike, and I like them simmer unread, until their tepid, and still they go unanswered.. finally it's been too long, and in my mind I keep meaning to get back to the sender, but eventually I just hope that they, like I, will have forgotten and moved on..

The thumbs up icon is one of the worst inventions in modern history. It makes a impersonal social platform noncommittal.. it's the graphic design equivalent to the popular thai phrase: "up to you.." And I'm the biggest offender!


src

I used to speak with pride how I would go off the radar when I was backpacking across America and through Europe. I lauded to anyone who would listen my 'aha' discovery that the more I responded to emails and messages on fb, the more emails and messages I got and therefore the more time I spent responding.. whereas if I went a week without responding, I would have less, two weeks even less, and within a month of not responding to anyone.. 0 new messages.

I felt proud of that accomplishment, and it worked, I guess, when I was young and traveling, but now that I'm older and stagnant, it's undesirable. I put off getting in touch, I wait so long until my mother or family members are contacting my acquaintances to track me down. I always think in my mind how much I appreciate all the unique individuals I have been blessed to meet in my life, how much they mean to me.. but I never bother to call them up or shoot them a line and let them know.


src

I bide my time, for what?.. a special occasion? The people that I care about slowly ebb out of my life.. I haven't talked to my best friend from high school in years.. we were inseparable and spend everyday hanging out from first grade until 12th..

I wait and I wait.. I see people hanging out, getting married, having kids.. hell, I'm doing all those things too.. the world just goes by.. and then you die.. people die, and you don't get to say goodbye.. you will never have that chance again to call up your pal and laugh about that time you woke up in the laundry machine in college, or that cool trip to the grand canyon that you took with that couple from alaska. You'll never be able to tell your grandmother "thank you" for being an inspiration.. or "I love you" one last time. Missed opportunities, irreparably gone..

All because.. life goes by.. life goes on.. and I.. I just watch it..


src

What about you? Do you have a ' life hack' or some system in place that spurs you to keep in contact with those who are meaningful to you? If you have any tips or tricks, or something that works for you, I'm all ears!

...Until then, stay savvy! 😎

Sort:  

Congratulations @striderpunk! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 8000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

nice written :-) I'm travelling since the beginning of this year and I'm not too much into writing messages with my friends back home. I appreciate less or more the small or bigger encounters with foreign people along our adventure. sometimes just for an hour other times a beginning of a true relationship. I try to focus more on the simple meetings with people in the analogous world. And when I walk trough the day with open eyes and an open heart I often be surprised in a positive way how precious those meetings can be.
with the people I really care about back home - I automatically write up and on simple messages - and because we have already a good fundament of relationship it doesn't need the hole explanation... sometimes only a hey, I need to talk to you/ hey, I think about you or hey, I need to know how are you doing...

cheers sue

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12