Bless This Food Mess

in #life6 years ago

I had been sitting at my desk with a hot water bottle on my lap since early morning working on my next Steemit post when the afternoon door bell rang “ding dong”. Unexpected visitors are unusual for me but this one was literally a warm surprise! It has been a while since I’ve seen my neighbour, I suppose the cold wet wintry days keeps us inside by the fireplace more often than not.

I open the door and there is my neighbour holding a steaming plate of a layered Italian full-bodied gorgeousness. She barely greeted me before passing over the plate, telling me the Italian name for the dish of which I didn’t understand, perhaps due to the fact that I was so distracted by my taste buds rousing to a possible awakening. She gave me the plate, told me the name and said nothing more, of course I thanked her graciously, but she expected nothing in return, quickly turned about and folded up her dried umbrella to take inside.

It had dawned on me that I had skipped breakfast and lunch, which I’m not fussed about, she had come just at the right time, my hot cup of nettle tea had turned to a half cup of cold bitter herbal liquid. I had mentioned to her once when helping with some techy stuff that I did not eat meat, so obviously another one of my heart strings was pulled when I discovered a perfectly prepared meal, fit for any hungry vegetarian. This was made with love, consideration and nothing spared, even fresh oregano from the garden made its way to my door.

These are the types of moments that make you appreciate the act of giving and realise the beauty, the abundance of human nature. In her doing so, she inspires me to give more, to those too caught up in a moment to realise their needs, to those who give without strings attached, to those natural whole-hearted people who would instil kindness in others through being kind.

I would share this actual food with you, but you were too slow, so I’ll share a picture, after I tried it of course. I made a mess of this, but bless it, my day is complete and am starting to feel better!

** Warm stuffing

Sort:  

That really looks delicious! It's great when friends do things like that. It means that they were thinking of you the whole day. :D

It’s a warming gesture :)

Nice. We got chummy with the neighbours; our kids' were the same age.
The landlord sold it though, and they moved away. The new owners got married shortly after they moved in; then her Mum moved in and stayed, then he moved out and they got divorced.
None of them ever brought me food, so I haven't posted about them, nor will I.

This made me giggle a little, a very straight down the line progression of events

enjoy😍 your meal🍲

Thank you, it was delicious!

Nice, just truly nice. It is super nice when people are like that. Imagine a world where everyone does that? Who would need for anything, no one would. She sounds like a super nice lady. What did you eat?

Yes we’d all be so nice every now and then we’d have to pinch a plastic bag or something just to stay balanced :P
It was a vegetable lasagne thing, it has a proper Italian name but I didn’t catch it.

Whatever it was it looks very interesting and knowing Italian food I bet it was very tasty.

You got a 36.10% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @stuffing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39