I Am Humbled

in #life6 years ago

Rain, Rain, Go Away


According to our local weather man, it will start raining this evening. And the extended forcaste shows rain during the late afternoon / evening hours for the rest of the week.

Last night, I told my (pregnant) wife that I would mow on Saturday since it should be a nice day.

Big Surprise

I planned to work from home for a few hours today, because two kiddos have dental appointments, and I need to stay back to keep an eye on the younger children.

As I am pulling on to our street, I noticed that the garage door was open. Strange.

I didn't see any one out. Even more strange. But then I noticed that the grass in the yard to my left had been cut. What?!

Then I saw my (pregnant) wife coming from my right carrying the gas tank that refills the lawnmower. She had little grass clippings all over her pants. Her pretty cheeks were pink as if she has been doing something strenuous. She had!

Then I noticed that my oldest daughter pushing a lawn mower. If you forgot, I wrote about her first lawn mowing xperience in this post - Life Lessons: Teaching Someone To Mow The Lawn.

zr0qyhirdg.jpg

source

What Are You Doing?


I couldn't help, but look at my wife in disbelief. This amazing woman, who happens to be 35 weeks pregnant, had been pushing a second lawn mower. That is another story for another day.

I asked, "What are you doing?" I knew what she had done. I guess I should have asked, "Why are you mowing the lawn?" But before I could clarify, she said that it is suppose to rain all week and since I had not felt well the last two days, she decised that the grass needed to be cut.

You don't know my wife as well as I do. She is a strong, determined, thoughtful woman. She is kind and generous. She sacrificially serve others.

As her husband, I am blessed to be the recepient of her love, kindess, and generousity. Honestly, I am still a bit stunned, eventhough I shouldn't be.

And as she walked into the house to get ready for the dentist appoitment, she said with a smil, "Don't worry. I needed some exercise today."

I Am Humled.


Humility is defined as "a modest or low view of one's own importance."

Today I had to examine how I view myself. Sometimes I believe that things can not be done without me. Sometimes I believe that my family, my team at work, etc can not function in my absence.

Today I was reminded that I am valued but not essential to everything that happens in life. Should I be willing to mow the grass so that my wife does not have to? YES!

But sometimes I am the one who is served and blessed.

@SumatraNate

Sort:  

Sounds like you have a fabulous, sweet wife! ♥

Looking forward to tons of rain here too, as the hurricane approaches. Its already started and will continue for the next day or so, then the weekend should be nice. My husband is going to help our son change the oil in his car for the first time. :)

I personally think I have the best, but I will let every other husband think the same as well.

Our thoughts and prayers are with you as the hurricane approaches. Cool to hear families spending time with each other learning valuable life lessons.

Thanks!
We came out of it just fine. We were supposed to get tropical storm conditions, but it ended up just getting windy. Damaged my already damaged greenhouse worse, but that was expected. Everything else was fine, we didnt even lose power.

Nice post! My wife did something similar for me a couple of months ago when I was sick and the lawn needed to be mowed. She isn't or wasn't pregnant of course, so that is pretty awesome that she did that for you. I have to get mine mowed tonight before the rain comes!

I have a great wife and it sounds like you do too. And she was right, it poured the night she and my oldest mowed. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment.

No problem! I always enjoy reading your posts when I have the time!

Posted using Partiko Android

Amazing! It is humbling when a wife sees a job and just does it. That reminds me, time to mow the lawn before my wife does!

Posted using Partiko Android

I think my wife is amazing. And what I know about you, you think the same of your wife. I hope you got your lawn mowed.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sumatranate from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hi @sumatranate!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.137 which ranks you at #3006 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 10 places in the last three days (old rank 3016).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 304 contributions, your post is ranked at #92.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85