Figuring Out Our Emotional Tolls

in #life5 years ago

Photo05232018.jpg

I think one of the most surprising comments I've ever heard from someone concerning death came from my aunt after her husband died. She had been married four times in her life and upon announcing his death she said, "I've outlived all four of those son of a bitches". I could hardly believe what I was hearing coming out of her mouth. I was always under the assumption that Don and her were happily married. There were one of the few couples I've known in my life whose partnership seemed in sync with each other but I'd come to learn later that those better years didn't come until he finally chose to settle down to a home life instead of going to the bars after work. It'd take a couple years of being lonely and having what she referred to as no longer having anything to offer up to another man that she come to regret what she said after the many reflections of her life. He, in the end, ended up being the best thing that ever happened to her.

I guess we all deal with death in our own way, sometimes that can be shocking to others whom expect or think we should be falling apart upon the loss of someone in our lives. One of the first deaths I ever had to deal with was that of my oldest sister. My family was really upset that I wasn't falling apart and had the nerve to tell the news media she was the type of person who was always finding herself in trouble. There was hoards of news media calling us from all over the country as she was a victim of California's worst mass murder and I guess I was suppose to lie to them and say she lived a humble life. When my dad passed a few years later I actually found myself in a state of relief. I often found the same thing after the death of my brother last year. When I ponder the death of friends I find myself feeling a more compelling loss. I think the difference is that I spent more time with them in my lifetime in a positive manner then all the drama brought on by my family.

I found one friend in particular that it took me years to stop grieving his loss. To this day I still feel a sadness inside but I often question if that's because there was never any closure as they never found his body. I have this mental picture of him languishing forever in some filing cabinet not worthy enough material in this lifetime to find where he is. I think that's why him and I were so close, just two people whose circumstances in life left us just languishing out here in the world trying to survive it. So to languish in death just seems unconscionable. You would think after all you've been through in life you would at least deserve to be laid to rest in peace.

These last few months have proven to churn my emotions as the losses just keep piling up. Again I find myself contemplating as to explain why I feel so affected by the loss of friends and people I have never met over the loss of family. I sincerely believe it's the way these people have impacted my life. There were always there for me when I needed them in a more positive manner whereas my family whom I spent a small portion of my life with always came to me to be the rescuer of all their drama.

Photo06161640.jpg

A couple of weeks before the death of a friend whose death I was expecting I lost another friend totally unexpectedly. Though I will admit that at the period of my life I spent living with him as my boyfriend for four years left me disgruntled and more than happy for a departure there really is something to be said for the old saying sometimes you are better off friends. Him and his family would spend decades being intertwined with ours as they'd practically go on to help me raise my two kids. I had interviewed over a hundred people after my first babysitter quit and wasn't happy with any of them, he was laid off so he offered to do it for a couple months, later his mom said she'd do it for awhile and awhile ended up being all the way through high school. It wouldn't come as a surprise then upon the news of his death that I felt an obligation to be there for them. They were more of a family to me then my own family and that's exactly how I was treated when I entered in, just as if I was one of their own. There was never any question or doubt on behalf of my sons either to attend the funeral, their entire families at that as they themselves whom had never meant them could feel that emotion within, that we had lost one of our own.

Photo06161519.jpg

That day though I think I learned something. Maybe it's not about the bond between individuals as much as the strength we gather from our losses and trauma. When I left there I started thinking about his ninety six year old mother sitting there as nothing had happened at all in comparison to a young person's funeral I attended this year. There was barely a dry eye in the place and as they spoke they could barely contain their emotions. The answer may actually lay in what we go though when questioning the lack of our emotions, we don't lack emotions we garner strength to help others through theirs. Our experiences are our first response sorting out our emotions are our second.

Sort:  

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Interesting reflections on a difficult topic. I particularly like this: "Maybe it's not about the bond between individuals as much as the strength we gather from our losses and trauma."
Manually curated by @akiroq.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

That is very delicious looking cake, thank you.

Sorry for your losses. I totally understand. When my father died, there was this huge family "rally round her" for mom that I got the benefit of being part of. It was a sadly joyous occasion, all my siblings were there and all the spouses, along with most of the grandkids. The entire town came to the funeral, our family was fed and comforted by the entire town. When my mother died, it was totally different. She had 6 living siblings, not one of them called to offer condolences to me. I had been back east to care for her 2 weeks earlier and so could not afford to go back for the funeral, and even MY siblings never called to grieve together or anything. Then all my aunts and uncles dies and no one even called to tell me. When my brother died, only me and two of my siblings came to his service, the other 3 could not be bothered. Here is the kicker... I am the youngest by quite a bit, I expect to outlive most if not all of my siblings. I do not expect to be notified when they die... I just do not really have a "family" any more. Not many friends, either... so it goes. What did you call it, "languishing." I always thought I was part of this big, close knit family, but once Dad died... I might as well have fallen off the planet, too.

In that sense you don't but in another sense you really do. That's how I've had to look at it, my sons, their girlfriends, and my grandchildren. I had a dysfunctional family so I've spent the majority of my life trying to break that chain. We aren't perfect by any means but I am not going to leave them languishing somewhere, as I am sure you know it's a difficult path to go down.

That is true. And bless you for realizing there was a chain to be broken. So many generations just parented on autopilot...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66274.97
ETH 3175.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06