The Dying Throes of Summer and Scarcity MindsetsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

In two days I will be returning back to a somewhat regular work schedule- about 5 days of professional development and teacher work time, and then school will begin. I'm not sure why I wait until the last minute to cram things into the last of my free time- I think I develop a scarcity mindset too late in the game to actually take advantage of all the time. Sometimes a scarcity mindset can be a good thing, in that it motivates you to take advantage of what you currently have.

The majority of my time this summer has been spent working on school-related things, reading books, and moving. Actually, it was fairly busy and even I daresay, productive. I had an opportunity to get some experience added to my leadership resume, I read 1 book that was teaching related, and the rest were fun (12 total for the summer), and moving will hopefully yield some decent results in the future by (possibly) decreasing stress. I also spent two weeks of my summer working on the lore for the steemmonsters game, which was both a fun creative outlet and a great way to grow my account.

Initially when I started writing this I thought I was going to talk about how I did more in the last five days than I did all summer, therefore having a scarcity mindset about the end of summer led me to be more productive. However, the more I actually thought about what was accomplished this summer, the more I realized that the scarcity mindset I am developing about the end of this summer isn't leading me to be more productive. It's just making me think I am more productive because I am cramming a bunch of social activities into the last days.

Reflecting is an interesting mental process. This post kind of got away from me, but thanks for hanging in for the ride.



Photos and words are property of Sunravelme

Sort:  

I've always been terrible for cramming work things (at the moment all steemit related) into the last minute. My memories of university are of always chasing a deadline but I've found as I get older I've managed to shift my mentality so that it's only 50% of the time when I have to chase that dealine lol

It's kind of funny that your doing the opposite Sun. Cramming all the social things in while there is still time, I remember doing something similar when I used to have a full-time high stress job. Now I make my own stress trying to be something of a freelance. Oh well, such is life. A scarcity mindset for time is an interesting concept. I enjoyed reading your musings :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05