Find Your Anchor, Get Lost & Break Free - A Surfergirl Thinking Out Loud

in #life5 years ago (edited)

When two roads diverge, take the one that leads to the beach. - Hannah McKinnon

That's precisely what I did 7 years ago.

If someone had told me back then that I would live close to a beach and surfing would become my ultimate passion, I surely would've laughed out loud at them.

Watersports? Me? The one who was always too afraid to snorkel since she didn't like putting her head under water?

Now, some years later, my first ritual in the morning is checking the wave forecast. Just in case.

In fact today's scenario really didn't look too bad.

There was a small time frame given where winds were supposed to blow gently onshore, while a friendly swell of 3-4ft high waves was going to hit the coast.

Swell. Onshore. I had never used such terms, but now they're part of my daily obsession.

When I woke up today my muscles were still a bit sore from yesterday's session. Yet, that type of pain usually disappears after paddling out again.

So I didn't think about it too long.

Here's to unexpected gifts of life under the rising sun.

uzrl57pokd.png

Find your anchor.

That's what a friend of mine told me many years ago.

To be honest, at that point in time I had no idea what he was actually refering to.

Now that I have found that anchor myself, I do know.

Relationships - both in private and business life - come and go. Some of them are supposed to last longer than others. Yet few are meant to be forever.

Still human beings need some type of stability to feel safe and secure.

Now if relationships can break, what may provide you with a safety net then?

Well if you have the chance to find something, an activity, that keeps you grounded no matter what, you'll become somehow invincible.

Independently from the outer circumstances, you'll have your secret retreat where you can return to and recharge.

Ideally that activity - that anchor - requires both your physical and mental efforts. Then chances are high that you can even use it as an energy booster.

Anchors are amazing sparring partners in life.

ezltqmpfb3.jpg

Surfing is my anchor.

No matter what's going on in my life, I can always go to the beach, paddle out for a while, get lost and break free.

Afterwards I'm literally prepared for everything.

The physical activity, combined with a huge portion of sun and oxygen, as well as the mental training, help me to focus on what's really important - in and outside the water.

I sometimes ask myself what I would've done if life hadn't sent me to an island with beaches.

How could I have survived without all this?

Well I think I would've made it to the Ocean no matter what.

Life usually offers you a couple of side roads and the chance to voluntarily choose your future path. You just need to recognize those opportunities and act with determination then.

Our inner dreams and passions usually find their way to the surface, sooner or later.

6og6s7juk7.png

My favorite coffee is served at the beach.

Coffee actually tastes even best when served near the shore, didn't you know that?

Some day I'll probably get myself one of those camper vans and just travel the world, from one surf spot to the next.

Yet I guess I'd always come back home to my island after a certain while, since this place to me is just perfect.

If you create the life you want, you actually don't need to go on vacation again.

7ifmdp4h4s.jpg

Now go and catch that anchor of yours :-)

Much love,
Marley -

.
.
.
h8k8q6qssd.png
This blog was created in July 2016, aiming to provide thought-provoking content for open-minded people who go on adventure, step out of comfort zones and embrace the new.
Thanks for being part of the journey!

dpd4dhbnk4.png

PS: All my blog posts are created and submitted via eSteem Surfer - my favorite Steem desktop client that was developed by @good-karma's @esteemapp team. Check out their account for more information.

Original content.

Sort:  

imagine que eras surfista desde muy jovencita (no digo que aun no lo eres), todo los días te veo por tv, sabias que sales en un comercial de tv, si no eres tú, se parece mucho a ti.

Te dejo el enlace de youtube. segundo 0:14

Jeje, qué gracioso! Desconocía este comercial. Pero creo que es un chico que se ve aquí en esta imagen:

ytshot.png

Hubiese sido genial empezar a surfear siendo niña - entonces seguramente me atrevería a coger olas más grandes ahora, jeje Pero aprecio el tiempo que he vivido en tierra aún así :-)

Gracias por pasarte por mi blog! Que tengas un super fin de semana!!

jajajajajajaja pense que eras tú, es un chico? bueno como tiene el cabello húmedo se párese a ti, jajaja feliz fin de semana para ti.

Wow, this is golden. I'm stealing your line about becoming invincible. So true but I've never thought of it that way.

I do have that activity and I teach it to others as well.

Thanks, this was just what I needed this morning.

Awesome! I'm really happy you found this inspiring @shunshifuw and are kindly invited to steal whatever lines from it :)

Have a great day!!

Some people are so lucky to live by the ocean.

Thanks for mentioning eSteem app. Kindly join our Discord or Telegram channel for more benefits and offers on eSteem, don't miss our amazing updates.
Follow @esteemapp as well!

Beautiful. I feel and live something similar. I'm from Czech Republic, state without ocean, but surfing is my anchor.

Posted using Partiko Android

I want to be the best version of myself for anyone who is going to someday walk into my life and need someone to love them beyond reason.

Sunshine is the best medicine. An ocean breeze puts a mind at ease.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25