Garden hacks update

in #life6 years ago

Goodness me. It's been 10 days since I updated my garden posts. My grub tubs have certainly been yielding fruits.

Some are still growing and fruiting, some I've harvested.

IMG_3405.JPG

Here's the updates.

Potatoes - I only planted 4 plants in 'grow-bags'. I harvested the first two a couple of weeks ago to get the real baby potatoes - and very nice they were too.
This week I lifted the 2nd two and have a crop of larger (and some small) potatoes. I could have left them to grow larger and older but I like new ones.

A sample of his week's crop.

IMG_3402.JPG



I have also harvested many, many peas and beans.
These are sugarsnap peas so you don't pod them but eat them as they are. My dog Tess likes these and I see her sitting by the plants longing for one to fall into her mouth - LOL
IMG_3400.JPG

And french beans

IMG_3401.JPG



The broad beans need to fatten up a bit more.


I harvested all of the carrots as I only planted about 2 dozen and they were all showing carrot-tops. Here's a few I have left. The rest have been eaten already.

IMG_3399.JPG

The cauliflowers are still small. I could pluck one or two but I want them to get larger so I can freeze them.

IMG_3403.JPG

The brussel-sprout buds are also still forming. It'll be a while before they're anywhere near ready.

IMG_3404.JPG

And then there's the fruit. So far only 3 raspberries have ripened but there's plenty of fruit growing. And I've harvested quite a few strawberries and more are coming.

IMG_3397.JPG

So the garden is still bearing fruits of my non-labour. It's been so easy and the stuff tastes better. Plus I have not used a single chemical on them. So they are way healthier than shop bought.

More next time. In the meantime, here's my sunday lunch veggies, all home grown (barring the sweet potato).

IMG_3409.JPG


IMG_3407.JPG

IMG_3406.JPG
I'd say that's a success, wouldn't you?

Thank you for reading. If you like my posts please feel free to follow me and upvote. Comments are also welcome, but keep it friendly :)

my steem logo.jpg









Sort:  

Nice, i love gardening

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86