Adoption And The Taboo Topics

in #life6 years ago

I have written before on how fragile the adoption process is; not only are we dealing with young and innocent lives who often find it impossible to feel safe and settled, but the feelings, emotions and opinions of birth parents, social workers and adoptive parents come into play too. This makes adoption one of the most intricate family dynamics and to remain respectful to each other, while keeping the well-being of the children in mind, we need to tread ever so lightly.

Each adoption taboo topic has the potential to raise varying questions and differing opinions. It is unfortunate however that these topics are very often considered as taboo and while I fully respect that others have different views on adoption, just as I know each situation and person is unique, I truly do hope that we will reach a point where adoption can be discussed more openly and that these topics don’t have to remain ‘taboo’.

The word taboo means to prohibit discussion of a person, thing, or idea due to social customs. 

I hope that by talking about the following taboo topics that we can open the doors to honest communication and that they will not remain taboo. I hope that as a population, we can instead share our feelings and opinions, without meaning or feeling any disrespect. 

Image Source

10 Taboo Adoption Topics


ONE: Choices that birth parents make.

When expectant parents are considering the adoption route, they most likely have an idea of the type of family they would like the child to be placed with. Some pity childless couples and prefer the child go to them while others often opt for large families with instant siblings. For the most part, birth parents are also the ones who decide on whether they want an open, semi-open or closed adoption. This is an extremely personal decision and while you might disagree with their choices, you have to support them and show respect.  It’s OK if they are trying to find the family that feels like the perfect fit to THEM, and not the other way around.

TWO: Choices that adoptive parents make.

When people adopt, the decision is very often preceded by heart ache. Sometimes couples cannot fall pregnant or have perhaps lost a child and are desperate to start or grow a family. After deciding to focus on adoption, there is then the choice of what kind of adoption feels right for their family. The adoptive parents can also voice what kind of adoption they would like, or what gender and race would fit their family. The birth parents can then agree to the expectations, or not. Everyone is allowed preferences during the adoption process and we have to respect these preferences. The individuals involved know what they are capable of and how they will be able to love and care for the adopted children within the new family dynamics. 

THREE: Adoptive couples don’t need to be perfect – they just need to be parents.

This one really sits with me. So often we, as adoptive parents, feel the pressure of being a perfect parent because this is what we chose. Adoptive parents feel they need to be perfect for their children, their social workers, the birth parents…for everyone really! Comments like this are made all too often: "Well this is what you wanted for so long. Why are you complaining about it?". Parenting is hard, kids are difficult – no matter how you became a parent, it’s going to be hard and you are going to make mistakes! Please do not make comments like the above, instead sympathise and help where you can. We are all simply trying to do our best.

FOUR: Birth parents can be happy after placement.

Adoption comes with so much sadness. It is not easy handing a child over and along with this heart ache, birth parents experience guilt too. But this does not mean that they should not find or deserve happiness.  They deserve all the joys life has to offer them, just like everyone else. We all have strengths and weaknesses, we all deserve to find our place in life, a happy place.

FIVE. Adoption is not a solution to infertility.

The best piece of advice I was given before starting the adoption process was to mourn the fact that I might never be pregnant and make peace with it. Adoption does not cure infertility and for some women and men too, it might not fill that void. It is important that one realises that adoption and giving birth to biological children are two very different things and different experiences. 

Image Source

SIX. Respect a person’s decision to adopt.

In some cultures, believe it or not, adoption itself is a taboo. Even in Western cultures people are questioned when they adopt, especially of they already have biological children. They might also be criticized on wanting to adopt a certain race only, or from a specific country. What you have to know about adoption is that EVERY situation is different and complex and unique to those in it. People follow their hearts and have reason for their actions, trust and respect that they are doing what’s right.

SEVEN. Adoption is pain.

As much as we would like to think that adoption is a good thing, it comes with so much guilt, pain and loss. While adoptive parents rejoice in receiving their new child, birth parents hurt at the decision they have made. While adopted children are enveloped into a loving family, they have lost their first one. Some try to cover their pain, so as to not hurt others, or they keep their guilt to themselves, so that other’s can be happy. For this reason, we need to show love to everyone involved, we need to make sure portals of communication are always open and a safe space should be created where everyone feels comfortable to share their feelings, without resentment. 

EIGHT. Adoption is fear.

There are MANY fears in adoption on all sides. Many are irrational fears. A common one among adoptive couples is that the child who was adopted will one day leave your family for their biological family or that they will resent you for adopting them. A common fear among birth parents is that the child that they placed will be angry at them for placing them. It's ok to think about these fears, but don't dwell on them. Choose love instead. Love your child. Love your adoptive couple. Love your birth parents. Love yourself. - https://adoption.com/

Image Source

NINE. When things go wrong…or right?

People change their minds, and this happens in adoption too. Sometimes a child will be placed with an adoptive family, only for the birth parents to change their minds and ask for the child back. Now it’s the adoptive parents who will mourn the loss. But who are we to argue that children should in fact preferably stay with their biological parents? Again, here lies guilt, resentment and sadness. 

TEN. Adoption is an exhausting journey.

Every family has layers, but a family with adopted children has more. There are more dynamics, politics and things to think about. There are more emotions, feelings and opinions. This can often be overwhelming and exhausting for all family members. 

As a birth parent, you think about the child you placed for adoption nearly every minute of every day. You love that child so much. The exhausting thing is that sometimes family and friends don't understand that. They don't know how to handle conversations raised about your adoption or realise that you can love someone who you let go.  You may feel like you can never move on. And that can feel overwhelming.


Adoption is beautiful, it’s a miracle in its self. But with beauty comes complexity, imperfections and sadness. Even beautiful things can feel pain. As an adoptive parent I do everything in my power to try see each situation through everyone’s eyes, my son’s eyes being the most important. While there are so many taboos to adoption, this does not mean that happiness cannot prevail and that adoptive families and birth parents cannot prosper in their journey. 


Much love - @sweetpea

(bringing you original content)

Join us @steemitbloggers

Animation By @zord189


Sort:  

there is a strong link between taboos and sexism in traditional societies and communities. as long as one doesn't solve, the other remains a problem

very interesting article. liked it, goodluck

This post is so good I gave you a follow. Thanks for sharing, I love talking about taboo topics, and I love that you decided to do that here.

Your post has been selected as #adsactlyspostoftheday :)

Join us in our Discord channel here to drop your post in our post promotion page, and make sure to use the @adsactly tag in the post itself.

DQmd5CQG5zLjjm2z8289qcLU6eBHJpC5FmgtR3aC1eXnhsi.png

Thanks for sharing this important and informative post. I know that you have been through the whole gamut of emotions and jumped through so many hoops in your quest to adopt and it is great that you are able to share these experiences and educate people about the process. Wonderful post.

I am a Social Worker and I believe that the adoption system must be reformulated.
There are many children in need of love and care and many parents willing to provide a safe and loving home. However, the adoption process is complex, bureaucratic and painful.
It is time to change and take into account the particularities of such a delicate situation.

I was adopted in 1964. I grew up knowing I was adopted. I don't remember ever not knowing I was adopted. My Mom could not have children. They adopted a boy first, my brother, not biological. Three years later they adopted me.

We both had anniversary's (cake) on the day were brought home and then we had our normal birthdays.

My 'family' was just as dysfunctional as the rest of my friend's families.

My poor Mom would read all these adoption articles and books then ask my brother and me all these questions to make sure we were 'alright'. Both my brother and I got to the point where we would just give her a hug and say 'yes, we are fine' so we didn't have to listen to the bull she read in the magazine's about how being adopted would scare you for life.

I still to this day thank my Birth Mother for giving me up for adoption. No, not to her face. I have no idea who she is. I thank her for knowing that she could not give me a home and having the guts and courage to give me a chance at a better life.

This is just my story....all true but......I don't read things on adoption because they usually are full of very negative things and while my life was not perfect, but who's is, I was given to a family for a chance at a normal life.

My parents more than met that obligation. LOLL What more can you ask for.

Thanks for this article I wish people had a better understanding of this process but there are so few good stories about adoption that aren't based on the 1920 kind of adoption.

My wife and I literally less than a month ago had a beautiful 15-month-old son join our family. (our first and probably only child)

Personally, I'm really happy to have him in our lives but getting him is not all joy I do feel sadness at what he will feel as a deep loss.

Australian adoption requires that adoptive parents are receptive to open adoption, however, Thailand generally doesn't keep great records and it can be difficult to reconnect.

I usually wouldn't put this here but its well and truly past payout so it doesn't feel vote beggish In case you're interested in reading here post I made about a month before we got to fly out and meet him.

Our Adoption Adventure

If I ever adopt (we have three children of our own) I would want to adopt within my own race. Marrying in my race and having children was important to me. Honoring my ancestors and keeping our people strong. I feel that if you don’t help your own people no one else would. I honor and respect all other races and think it’s important for them to continue their traditions and culture as well. Overall interesting post you brought to light many topics I had not considered before when thinking about adopting. Thank you... following

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13