I Am Not Racist: A Twist In The Adoption Journey

in #life6 years ago

Our paperwork is in, we are waiting! As many of you know, hubby and I adopted our little boy just under three years ago. From the moment we laid eyes on him we knew he was ours, he was meant to be our son, he was what we had waited for, prayed for. Fast forward to today, we are now in the process of adopting baby number two – WE ARE GROWING OUR FAMILY!! Our application is in and we are now on the waiting list. This means that, well, we wait!

But this leads me to the point where I don’t feel as excited as I should. You see, the first time around we started the adoption process with no race preference, that is, we wanted a child from any colour of the rainbow. Living in South Africa, statistics show that an average of 300 black babies are abandoned every day, this outnumbers the white babies who are waiting to be adopted by far! So, we were very much expecting (and happily so) to be matched with a beautiful brown child. But destiny had other plans for us, instead we received a call to say that a little pink boy was waiting for us in hospital, and that he was our match! Needless to say, at this point colour was not a priority, WE WERE PARENTS! After trying to conceive a child for more than five years, this was our miracle moment and colour was not going to change that.

This time however, we have decided to adopt a white child. This is our decision (so far), a box we ticked on our application form. And boy does this play on my conscience. You see, we sat down with our social worker, voiced our concerns, discussed our hopes and aspirations for our first “born” and came to the conclusion that as a family, we are simply not equipped to adopt transracially. Our counselor feels that if we adopted a child of another colour, that all of our attention would go into protecting that child, and our older son would be neglected, leaving him in a fragile state, since he will also have “adoption demons” that he will need help fighting. It’s been advised that both our kids should be white, preferably. There are a few more personal reasons to add to the list too.

At first, this was a little sigh of relief for us. Not because we are racist, NOT AT ALL. We are educated enough to know that raising a child of colour in South Africa comes with challenges, these challenges will be hard for us, but more so for this vulnerable little soul. This child needs someone who is brave enough to take on the challenges for him or her and can do so by “knowing what they are doing”. I don’t know if we are brave enough. While I would like to think so…I just don’t know.

Image Source

Anyway, this brings me to this point. We are members of quite a large adoption community. Most of the families have adopted transracially. Since we broke the news that we are on the waiting list for a white child, we have somewhat been snubbed. They think we don’t like their brown children. But we love their brown children, in fact, we are often host parents to many Zulu babies while they wait to be placed with their matched families – we are not racist. We know what it entails raising a kid from another race group in this country – we’re scared. We are scared that we cannot protect our one child and the other at the same time. But now I feel ashamed that we ticked the White box.

It also eats at me that while we are waiting for one of the very few adoptable white babies to be placed with our family, hundreds, no thousands of black babies crowd baby homes and orphanages waiting to go to their forever homes. We could be a forever home for one of them. Is our request for a white child unreasonable?

As you can see we have hit a slight twist in our adoption journey. We are slightly at a loss with what to do. We have now asked our social worker for another appointment for more counsel. We are still open to adopting transracially, that door is not closed, in fact, its opening more and more by the day. We just need reassurance, resources and support to guide us in the right direction, to make the right decision, for our own family.

Adoption is not easy.

Advice (and reassurance) from the @teamsouthafrica community is welcome

Much love - @sweetpea

(bringing you original content)

Join us @steemitbloggers

Animation By @zord189


Sort:  

Your post has been selected as #adsactlyspostoftheday :)

Join us in our Discord channel here to drop your post in our post promotion page, and make sure to use the @adsactly tag in the post itself.

DQmd5CQG5zLjjm2z8289qcLU6eBHJpC5FmgtR3aC1eXnhsi.png

Awesome, thanks so much!!

My perspective is probably of no practical use to you. I am from an entirely different place and time. I will say that you can and should make your decision based on today. What you might know next month, or what you knew yesterday is of no value. Only what you know today.

I congratulate and thank you no matter your current decision. I was adopted at birth, and can't tell you how much I appreciate my parents for the life they gave me and my three siblings.

Thanks for being so straight up about your concerns. Shows me great bravery and definite parenting skills.

@bigtom13 thank you so much for your very helpful words! They are of the utmost practical use and have helped settle my very worried mind and anxious conscience! Phew, I don't know about the "brave" part, sometimes I think we are just winging it! I do know one thing though, and that is that my hubby and I were meant to adopt (hopefully again and again)! While you appreciate your parents, I can tell you that they appreciate you a whole lot more for coming into their lives.

People often praise us for adopting and giving kids a loving home, it grinds my bones when they say these things. We didn't adopt because we are heroes, we adopted because we desperately wanted a child and adoption found us.

@Sweetpea, Congratulations on your adopted son and congrats on trying to adopt another one that is such a sweet and humanitarian thing you guys are doing.

Certainly, I see you guys are not racist and it's perfectly normal your request, it's just that these days people just don't see it that way and want to flag everything as racist to be "holier than thou" and that's just sad.

I hope you guys can have the kid you want, thanks for sharing this part of your life with all of us.

Thanks! We are very excited! It really isn't humanitarian though, just the only way we can grow our family. But honestly, I wouldn't have it any other way! Thank you for your kind words :)

I see your point and wow I can think it can be stressing you out. You have valid point that has nothing to do with being racist, but I believe God is going to send you the baby that you need and who needs you, no matter what box you tick

That's what my hubby said, that we will be guided to the child who is meant to be ours. I think our next appointment will give us more insight, I hope!

That's an honest post! And its such a shame that people are so scared of offending that they are scared to speak the truth.
We are part of a family that have 2 little white twin girls that were adopted, and they have been tough (due to the circumstances that they came from and not being babies when adopted).
Then there were also 3 black boys that were adopted as well, Daniel had some serious health issues from his abuse and the other 2 boys are healthy and doing exceptionally well.
We can see it comes with issues and struggles, but believe me the kids born to you are also fraught with issues LOL. Each child has their own fight and struggles and personality, but that does not stop you from feeling correct in saying you feel it better to make the choice to adopt as you are. Well done on taking the step to help ANY child come into a loving home. These are all in need and just because you chose as you did, doesn't change that fact.
You don't need to defend that choice!

Good luck, and God speed!

Thank you so much for your advice, and I had never really thought of it that way, that every family has "their stuff" and all kids whether born to you or adopted could have difficulties growing up. You're right, I don't need to defend my choice, it just gets so tricky when people snoop and ask about the race of the child we want to adopt - I am always stumped as to explain things to them without feeling a little foolish.

And while we really do want to help the children who come into our home, it's my hubby and I who are the truly blessed ones, our son has brought us SO much joy!

As children do! You're saving a life there and will be blessed for it.
All the best to you and your family, and for sharing such a personal post.

Not an easy decision to make @sweetpea ideally a child should grow up with cultural background as part of being raised. This world is changing so quickly this is not always the norm.

All children deserve a good home, a change at life no matter who they are.

Thanks for your comment @joanstewart. I am more of the belief that culture is created within a family. So many of the babies are abandoned and their culture is unknown, they could be Jews, Zulus, Xhosa's, Zimbabwean - who knows! While I believe kids should be encouraged to explore cultures they are interested in, it the culture they do grow up with that's their own. Many disagree with me on this though.

I agree with you 100%

Hmmm, I can sort of understand the dilemma but unfortunately have no direct experience when it comes to adoption.

I will however say that you should do what you feel comfortable with.

With that being said there will always be different challenges with different children, regardless of skin colour, therefore I don't believe that should be the main concern. You could well end up having to play defense more for your white boy than the other way around. It will depend on their personal challenges they'll be facing in the world and at the hands of others. It's just the way it works.

I look at my kids for example and my daughter is just much more demanding and time consuming than my son, therefore he tends to get the short end of the stick most of the time. He will likely state that one day but all we can do is try and maintain the best balance possible and explain to him why things are that way.

That's so true! Thanks for that perspective, while I have thought of it before, your example has been quite a realisation and reminder that we really cannot predict the future, or plan our futures - I suppose we can only go with how we feel at the time, and take it from there. Thanks @therneau

I think sometimes we tend to overcomplicate things. My wife has taught me how to really just break things down into a simplified perspective. Black or white, there's no inbetween. Sure, there are variables like we need to look at the ,"this = and that =".
Glad I was able to refresh some thoughts and add a new perspective :)
It's a massive commitment which I salute you and hubby for and can understand the nervousness involved. I know you will make the right decision in the end. Remember, your first instinct is usually right too. Something people tend to dismiss.

You have been scouted by @promo-mentors. We are a community of new and veteran Steemians and we are always on the look out for promising authors.

I would like to invite you to our discord group https://discord.gg/vDPAFqb.

When you are there send me a message if you get lost! (My Discord name is the same as here on Steemit)



Thank you :)

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Your post has been selected as the @steemiteducation Post of the Day:)

Join us in our Discord channel here to drop your post in our post promotion page, and make sure to use the #steemiteducation tag in the post itself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15