The Day I Got THE CALL

in #life6 years ago

I wanted to write this post yesterday, but I decided to spend my time reflecting and reliving the day instead. The 1st of July is my favourite day. On this day I got THE CALL. Not your average “how are you doing” call, oh no! This call, well this call made me a MOM!

Some babies come via "the stork", our child, he became ours through one simple phone call. Just over three years ago, I became a mom - finally! Being a mother was my dream, I had no other. So, when I found out I have unexplained infertility I really felt like I had been short-changed! I was wrong though, life isn't that harsh, it was merely nudging me in the right direction. 

When my husband and I made the decision to adopt, it felt right! We were MADE for adoption, without ever realizing it until the point where it was one of our only options. So, we filled in all the correct paper work, sought counsel from a social worker and applied for our name to be put on the RECAP list (Register on Adoptable Children and Prospective Adoptive Parents). 

And then, we waited.


Our application to adopt went through in April 2015. If I thought the 5 years we took to try and conceive was long, I was about to receive a wakeup call. Just imagine this scenario:

You know that you are going to become a parent. You don't know whether it will be within the next week, or perhaps it will take year (or more)!
You know that you need to prepare for a new baby. You don't know the age of the child, the size of the child or the gender.
You know that there is a child out there waiting for you. You don't know how long he or she has been waiting and what his or her physically and emotional needs are. 
You know that you will get THE CALL. You have no clue whatsoever when that will be, not one hint.

The wait is tormenting. If my cell phone was about to die and I had no means to charge it, I would literally go into panic mode. What if I missed the most important call of my life? My mobile became my best friend. There were times when I would stare at it, willing it to just damn well ring, let it be her, let it be the social worker phoning to congratulate me! I constantly felt anxious, no matter the advice given to me to "just relax" - YOU RELAX!

And then it came...

WE GOT THE CALL!


On the 1st of July 2015 (a Wednesday morning), at 10:15 am - I BECAME A MOM. I was driving home from a meeting, I had my best friend (cell phone) seated safely on the passenger seat. It rang. The name of our social worker appeared. I knew. 

The wait, the anxiety, the doubt, the roller coaster of emotions...it was all worth it. We were very lucky, we only waited 2 months before being matched with a beautiful baby boy. He was and is perfect in every way. I would've waited even longer if I had to...I would do anything for him!

THE DAYS THAT FOLLOWED


Although we met our son almost three and a half years ago today, I can remember the days that lead up to us holding him for the first time so vividly! We met him and took him home 7 days after we received our life-changing call. We rushed to prepare his nursery, shopped for clothes and baby paraphernalia, announced to the world that we were going to be parents, not in 9 months, in 7 days!

The moment we laid eyes upon our boy is explainable. We were in awe, we felt privileged. We were blessed. 

This picture says it all:


{The moment we met our son}

Much love - @sweetpea

(bringing you original content)

Join us @steemitbloggers

Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

I myself didn't want kids initially, but now that I am a mother, I cannot imagine my life without them, as much as they drive me up the wall sometimes.
So, I can only imagine what it must be like for someone who's wanted one forever. I am so happy that things fell into place. Much love :)

Oh yes, I know that wall very well! The world really does work in strange ways, all for good reason I hope :)

The wait would be agonising if it took a while like in your case, but in the end you were able to adopt a child and no doubt would never be happier.

It was actually quick the first time, but we were told that the wait would be much longer this time, mostly because placements are made with childless couples first. At least this time I have a very biosterous little boy to keep me busy!

@sweetpea your tpoic is very interesting
You share your life
Very less amount of people share life
Good to see you

Happy Mama day, @sweetpea!! What a beautiful story and testimony that isn’t too late to bless a little one. 💜💜

Ah thanks so much! :)

I love adoption stories! My wife was adopted from Korea at 4 months old. Her family loves showing me the pictures of her getting off the plane with her crazy spiky hair, lol.

I only wish more women who got pregnant would be willing to go down this path instead of ending a life. I'm sure happy my wife's biological mom was willing to give it 9 months to see her daughter at least get a chance some where else. Congrats on being a mom!!!

Thank you @intothewild, and thank you for sharing your wife's journey with me too :) like you, I also love to hear adoption stories that have a positive outcome.

What a special, beautiful story! Our neighbours have just fetched their special boy and it has been quite a journey. So reading this through their eyes I can imagine your mixed feelings. What a blessing your son must be to you!

Oh wow a BIG congrats to them!

Thanks. Adoption is a special journey.

What a beautiful story. So glad for you!

This is was an emotional read. Tears rolled down my eyes. 1st July really must be a memorable one for you cos you got a precious gift on that day. And you love your son so much. I love it!

Ah thank you for sharing this moment with me. It was a very tearful time for us too, but all happy tears! We really do love our son VERY much :)

Small kids are gift of gods

This is very true :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86