Health Log ~ A New Beginning

in #life6 years ago (edited)

hourglass-695275.jpg
Image cc0

Day One ~ September 17, 2018

I am 355 pounds. I have not exercised in months. Perhaps years. I have slipped into a sedentary life that consists of whatever entertainment I can consume that will hold my attention. Youtube, TV series and movies. I often spend 12 to 16 hours at my computer on days I do not play a show.

On days I play I spend as much time online as I can before I have to leave to play my gig. I will sometimes make part of those days a social day to interact with strangers at the supermarket or the fans at the shows I play. I live alone and seem to be very content doing so, but I do realize the need for some social contact with the world around me, and not just online.

I have cut off all sugar from my life and all gluten. I have outlawed other things from my life as well, but that’s a story for another day.

My symptoms are unusual joint aching in my right elbow in particular, an unsolvable (for years!) post nasal drip which is maddening as a singer, toenail beds are ominously darkening, my feet are very slightly swollen and I have sleep apnoea and sleep with a CPAP every night. My mood seems steady for the most part and I am not prone to anxiety or depression it seems.

Reflections

I feel as if life is slipping past me and the years are speeding up as I spend time indoors instead of travelling and doing the things I love like being outdoors, seeing new places and enjoying a spontaneous existence.

When I went to Cuba 2 years ago with a friend I had to use a seatbelt extension on the plane for the first time in my life. When we got on the tour bus that would take us to the resort I had to make my way to the back of the bus, as all the other seats were taken. The aisle space between the seats was too narrow for me to pass easily, and in embarrassment I forced myself as nonchalantly as possible between each pair of seats to the back of the bus. I had to force myself between the seats with so much force I badly strained a calf muscle which remained affected for several days.

In the past I was an avid outdoorsman and a decent athlete. I was big into tennis, golf, karate, mountaineering, hiking, swimming, ice fishing, winter camping on Georgian Bay, the Mattawa and French rivers and more. I hiked 50km weekends in Crowsnest Pass Alberta, and it was the joy of my life. Bathing in ice cold rivers, fires at night and screeing on shale down hillsides at breakneck speeds. We once found these massive, flat black rocks on a mountainside with a bubbling brook flowing over them. With two feet of snow on the ground we lay on the rocks and had a mountain bath. The sun had heated up the water, using the huge black rocks like solar panels to warm the water. What a spectacular memory. I also jumped back and forth 1000 times at the Alberta, British Columbia border marker at the top of a mountain pass. I’ve been to Alberta and British Columbia at least 1000 times each. How many people get to say that? Ha!

The year was 1989 when I left College and it would be many years before smart phones came to be. I had left college in the rear view mirror along with the 1988 Mac Plus computer I had used for my last 2 years of school. I had a 20 megabyte, yes you heard that right, MB external hard drive the size of a large toaster. Oh that 5.5 inch black and white screen. Asteroids was amazing on that little computer lol. You see, even then electronics could suck me in like nothing else, and Nintendo was coming on strong with Mario. My oh my if we only knew it was the beginning of a massive gaming trend that would keep people from being productive for weeks and months at a time.

But like the ring of power, electronics were never far from my life, and the fascination I held for them and still do would slowly draw me into a virtual world from which I seemed to have very little hope of escaping from.

Time will tell. I have quietly packed my things for my new journey and slipped out the door. No fanfare, no promises. A simple attempt to do better. To improve my health and value myself more than I value things that do not bring me life, health and fulfillment.

Wish me luck,
Bug

Sort:  

I voted your content because you are on my whitelist.

Join our army of good authors, delegate to me to apply: 2000 SP JEDI | 1500 SP **SITH Lord | 1000 SP Skywalker | Less Stormtrooper


Witness: @castellano

Use SteemConnect to delegate safely: 50 SP | 100 SP | 200 SP | 500 SP
JEDY 2000 SP | SITH lord 1500 SP | SkyWalker 1000 SP |

i wish you the best of luck my friend, just walking a little every day will help for sure along with your new diet. just cutting out sugar, flour and caffeine will help you dramatically to start. its a hard one for all of us. i gained 20 lbs myself from tons of moving and stress. i know the feeling. i started an internal cleansing and i'm halfway through. i may have lost 5 lbs so far but getting back to my ideal weight is what i'm shooting for. cooking fresh, healthy and not going out to eat. its not easy! hugs

I'm really happy you are also taking the time to take care of yourself. No one is going to do it for us! 20 pounds may not sound like much but I'm sure is drags you down! I know what it's like to take my eye off the ball.

Here's to the future!

@thebugiq yes i am trying. thank you. i got your back. was going to talk to you about it today in chat. for another time. yes the 20 lbs def does. i'm used to being so light and free. ho hum.
here is to our future! xo

4 brisk 15 minute walks a day does wonders, more is even better!

yes and i lost tons of weight doing just that in nyc, tho you end up running most times.

I used to work in a corporate office full of very large people who rarely moved. Before work, every break possible, & lunch I went out to hike in the woods. Was that or eat cake & pop in the break room. Excellent motivation to be healthy

yeah me too, but the stress of their energy still got me all jammed up.

Yeah me too, but the
Stress of their energy still
Got me all jammed up.

                 - eaglespirit


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

OMG this is frgn hilarious but i love it and you!! xo

What a brutally honest and sincere post @thebugiq. Good for you to make these changes, and I wish you the very best on this journey of yours :)

Full Powered Vote.gif

Thanks for stopping by Robert. I really do appreciate the well wishes. We'll see how it all goes!

we're growing up man, my teeth are shot, my lungs are shot, my shattered, untreated elbow bugs me two years after the fall, my vision is so blurry im typing without looking most of the time ,not out of skill, but because I cant see it anyway.

So do this list...

Gotta love ourselves just a little more buddy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94