Xmas has Started in Our House...

in #life5 years ago

While most people love to build suspense of gift giving and make people wait until 25th I would rather give my gifts early. Why wait until the 25th to enjoy something when you can start enjoying it shortly after Thanksgiving. Honestly my only rule is it has to happen after Thanksgiving...no skipping the best holiday of the year.

present-1893642_640.jpg

Source: Pixabay

Well my lovely Wife has been asking for some time now for a new Dishwasher, Garbage Disposal, and Kitchen Faucet. I love my Wife dearly and to be fair we needed all of them or would be soon enough. But I hate plumbing work but am way to cheap to pay some idiot with their butt crack hanging out to come in and install these things as the work is simple in terms of skills needed. So in my normal spirit of xmas...that is my do whatever I can to mess with the normal thinking of it...I decided to buy all 3 of them completely ignoring our "budget for each other" and get them installed long before xmas came around. Maybe she can have some slippers or something equally boring on Xmas day...lol.

Once I decided that it was time to get a new dishwasher, the must have, and I knew that I would have to replace our 18 year old garbage disposal and once I was dealing with that it only made sense to take care of the facet at the same time. Once you are ripping into all this there just is no reason to skimp if you can afford to do it all.

20181204_200748.jpg


20181204_200856.jpg


20181204_200904.jpg


We also had a dead Insta Hot Water tank and water filter under the sink that needed to be removed before they started leaking. Yay even more work!

Between going to the store to get the dishwasher and garbage disposal yesterday and the multiple trips to the hardware store today to get the faucet and then parts...and more parts...and then more parts it was a ton of running around. Then all the the fun installing these items and the hickups that happened along the way (like breaking one of the water supplies in the wall, major oops) it was 2 full days to get everything done and one burn from the torch fixing that major oops.

But it's done and my Wife is thrilled with the updates to the kitchen. For at least the rest of this year I will not touch anything plumbing related for any reason. I am officially done with plumbing for 2018.

And to those wondering why the dishwasher is my Wife's thing...well it's not a male chauvinist thing rather I do most of the cooking in the house so she gets the dishes.

Sort:  

Sounds like you went all out this year! Good for you for spoiling her. And when it's something you need anyway, why not? Merry Christmas!

Was a great excuse to make her really happy. Been a tight wad most this year as my Wife took her dream vacation to Hawaii and then we had a couple major expenses come up including replacing our boiler. So she didn't think she was getting this until sometime next year at the earliest, but I made a little extra money and figured it would be good to spoil her....heck she deals with me so she deserves it.

For gifts to be consider Christmas gifts anything after thanksgiving counts. Nice gifts but still gonna need something personnel no matter how small it is.

Sweating copper is an art and a repair in a wall is about as hard as it gets.

I burned my thumb on the $%^&ing torch just getting the old stuff taken apart. So took a risk and bought Shark Bite fittings instead of trying to sweat the copper in the wall. Was 3 spots that had to be done as a T union had to be replaced. Was well worth the $11 for the fitting. And everything I found said it should be good to go for at least 15 years (about how long the product has been in use) and probably longer. So I'll just plan on replacing it each time I need to get a new dishwasher and disposal if I'm still in this house. Figure that keeps me safe.

Something personal is always the hard one. I always buy things as I see them and give the gift then. Drives my Wife crazy because I do the same with the kids. So come xmas time I never know what to get anyone.

Don’t feel like the Lone Ranger with gifts . I suck at the personnel stuff. I brought a dishwasher and frig last year if that tells you anything. I have been married long enough that my wife knows. LOL.

Depending on the hardness/softness of your water they will last longer. “T” joint is. The hardest to sweat so good call.

We are lucky and have great water here. Lake Michigan water is the perfect softness so no need for water softeners and no buildup from the water. Hot water heaters actually live past their expected life on a normal basis...many time 5+ years longer due to this.

I am on well water and its hard water. I got tired of replacing the fittings in the water system that I installed a water softener system.

well it's not a male chauvinist thing rather I do most of the cooking in the house so she gets the dishes.

Yaaaayyy.. what a good husband 😉 and I think woman loves that kind of gifts 😆 at least I will be happy if my hubby gives me that too. I don't know that you are a chef too😨 no wonder you're good on juggling 😉

I had some cooking with kids posts that I did last year. Really need to get back to that...they were fun to do and got my youngest into cooking. She actually can make a few dishes start to finish and she is only 9. Have some friends who have older kids 16+ that can't actually cook. Here is an old post from a meal I made with here. She picked the meal out, did the shopping, and most of the prep work but I cooked the crepes as they are pretty tricky to time correctly being so thin.

Yaaayyy... you should make another post lije that and I bet curie will vote on that post 😉 your co-chef must be a better cook now. Thanks for the link..

Love that you not only get the children to cook which is fun but giving them a sense of responsibility is the BEST

This really is critical. To many parents miss the value in giving their kids responsibilities.

Congratulations @thedarkhorse! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 2000

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @thedarkhorse!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.138 which ranks you at #3120 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 325 contributions, your post is ranked at #151.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hardware is great but may i suggest that the 'right' slippers might make you a winner on Christmas day! Please don't opt for boring......you seem to be a generous person. Use your energy to be creative for 'the day'. I love being surprised.
Have fun!

I will come up with something better then slippers. That is just a running joke I like to tease her with. A couple years ago things were tight and I said well we both need slippers. She took me seriously buying me only slippers and I bought her something nicer. She was so mad at me...lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72