Photo Tour of the 'Gonna Be' Garden

in #life6 years ago

Instead of just thinking 'I wanna grow some food this year', I put actual seeds in some dirt, and I'm gonna grow some food this year.

Instead of just dreaming and planning out a garden this winter, I actually planted seeds indoors and got some things started early.

Instead of just talking about actions of the past, I took pictures of what already is, and what's gonna be. For example, aside from the food that is already growing:

There's already a cat by the birdbath.

IMG_3074 (1).jpg

IMG_3075.jpg

There's already buttercups;

IMG_3085.jpg

An inchworm has already traveled a few yards;

IMG_3090.jpg

IMG_3093.jpg

IMG_3094.jpg

IMG_3095.jpg

Buttercups again, you knew about those already, but let's have another look, they and these clovers will be here all year.

IMG_3100.jpg

IMG_3088.jpg

IMG_3102.jpg

Behind the buttercups and clover, there's gonna be peas, and those peas are gonna be picked right off the vine, and as @jedau might say, "snaccidentally" eaten on the spot:

IMG_3106.jpg

There will be blueberries.

IMG_3107.jpg

IMG_3109.jpg

There's gonna be a lot of blueberries.

IMG_3110.jpg

There's gonna be beans...

IMG_3112.jpg

There's gonna be two kinds of basil, sweet basil:

IMG_3115.jpg

And even though it's tiny basil now, there is gonna be Thai basil later:

IMG_3117.jpg

There's already deep purple petunias around the garden:

IMG_3125.jpg

I get the darkest purple petunias because I know how they are gonna smell when the sun begins to set, and the air cools down. Of all the petunias, the dark purple ones are gonna smell the best.

IMG_3128.jpg

Oh, there's gonna be carrots, and the deer are not gonna eat them this year:

IMG_3119.jpg

Later, in the heat of the summer, there's gonna be long skinny little heirloom cayenne peppers:

IMG_3121.jpg

There's gonna be lots of food in the garden this year, and the sugar baby watermelons sprouted last night, so there will be melons. In fact, according to these last two photos, there's gonna be other melons besides watermelons-- there's gonna be some golden cantaloupes:

IMG_3129.jpg

IMG_3130.jpg

There's gonna be a lot of things in the garden this year that didn't make the photo shoot this time, but I'm gonna wrap this one up. Thanks for looking at the garden with me!


all images above mine, taken with Canon Rebel, 2018 in the Ozarks in the springtime

IMG_2143.jpg

click @therealpaul for more

Sort:  

dammnit, this all better grow for you!!! now I am invested! cute kittie

There's no stopping it now!

You are a man of actions. No talks, just get things done!
Highlight to the beast and the petunias.

No camera can make it past the beast without a click or two, and few noses can pass the purple petunia without a sniff. Right now though, there are bunches of wild roses around the edges of the garden, and it mostly smells like roses here-- it's a good time of year for this little spot of earth.

I like the style. It still looks like the wild, but you know what you have

There are wild sections, always closing in on my tended beds.

The plants, flowers, insects are very natural. Really amazing photoshoot

Those yellow flowers are easy to take pictures of, or maybe a better way to put it; it's hard to take a bad photo next to that patch of buttercups. Thanks for looking!

That is quite the impressive garden you have going there! I hope to have a real garden like that in the next few years. And chickens, I definitely want chickens, and eventually goats as well lol! I am glad you appreciate the Buttercups and Clovers. They will draw in bees, one of the best friends a garden can have! :)

I let the neighbors grow chickens and goats, I do well just getting a few plants to grow! Yes I can't bear to mow down the buttercups or clovers, even though they have expanded and are taking over parts of the garden, I always feel like cutting flowers down might anger the elemental spirits around here, if they exist. The bees too-- I like happy bees, and have seen quite a few this spring.

Hmm, I think it's going to be a beautiful and colorful garden in time. 😊

I will have the camera ready!

Hey @therealpaul I made a post a month or so ago about these beans from Southern Utah that are 500 years old. They are called Fremont beans. The natives from that area grew them. I got them out of a cliff dwelling. I sent some to a gal back in Georgia who is going to plant them. Would you like some? If so I'll pop them in the mail tomorrow. Of course if you'd prefer to keep your location, etc., private I certainly understand and honor that. Blessings. Jealous of your natural blueberries.

That sounds really interesting, though I'm just a beginner in gardening, those beans might should go to a more competent gardener to ensure that they survive. I could likely get them to sprout, but then I might wander off and neglect them. I appreciate the offer, but to perpetuate the Fremont bean, actual gardeners might be needed.

And they do come from a dry climate. Dont know how they'd do in a moist climate where things grow by themselves. Anyway, blessings on your garden.

Hi theralpaul,

Good for you to take action to grow some selection of plants.

You will be feasting as each matures.

Good going. Glad for u.

The garden tends to bring the future's joy into the present, a feast for the imagination.

Thea garden is bringing you the hope of the future in food supply.

Your gonnabe garden looks so much moar betterer than a wannabe garden XD Snaccidents happen sometimes, and that's okay. We lost most of a tomato crop to several snaccidents involving children.

Hope to catch more progress pics as time goes by :D

goatsig

I took a few pictures of my 'wannabe' garden one year; photos of dirt, not nearly as impressive.
It's hard to get mad at children for eating vegetables, sounds like the tomatoes went to a good cause.

We were completely not mad XD Just puzzled about why these strong, healthy and excessive tomato plants weren't producing anything. We thought the chickens must be getting into the vege patch and really hammering them as we found no indication of bugs. The answer came as we were watching my oldest walking around the house lost deep in one of his roleplaying games, and as he passed the vege patch he reached one skinny arm through the chicken wire, snaffled a tomato and walked off eating it like an apple XD We just politely requested that he leave some for our salads!

Our garden is pretty wannabe at the moment, it's been neglected for the last two seasons as we've been flat out with stupid things :<

goatsig

Yeah my garden beds are behind a season, but it was last year that I was all Steemit all the time, and I didn't do nearly the maintenance back there as usual. I took pictures of the tall grass and made a post, how Steemit had ruined my garden, now that I think back. Paid out ok, I think!

Looks like a great spot for a garden. Your blueberries are coming along nicely! It's a toss-up for me on which I enjoy the most straight off the plant. Blueberries or strawberries.

I feel blessed to have all of this space and time for such a garden.

This year there are hardly any strawberries in this garden, so the blueberries are probably going to be the favorite by default.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61649.11
ETH 3003.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77