From Nest to Plate: My Gratitude for an Egg

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Today, I warmly invite you to dig in with me to my lunchtime musings. :)

IMG_20180912_105317969-2.jpg
...my makeshift bibimbap

The modern Western world has its advantages. We have our fancy personal communication devices to use for pretty much anything, we can go to the grocery store when we are hungry, and we can choose what we do for a living to pay for it all. It's all very handy. As I was cooking an early post-vinyasa lunch for myself today though, I realized (not for the first time) there are some major drawbacks to these conveniences.

I have a coworker (now friend) who lives off grid at 10,000 feet in the mountains of Colorado. Last weekend, my hubby and I drove up this insane mountain road (then back down it, only to have to call her from the bottom to rescue us) to hang out with her and her partner at their homestead. We were super excited, because as we prepare for our own off-grid lifestyle, we are constantly looking to connect with similar people, share ideas, and pick up tips for efficient living.
We had a terrific time at their 'stead. We got to meet her brilliant 13 year old son, as well as all their chickens, their one plucky little rooster, and their 6 month old puppy. We slept overnight in their greenhouse (if you've never slept in a greenhouse, I highly recommend it), and in the morning as we were hiking down the hill to the cabins, we were greeted by their comical, weirdly cartoony flock of turkeys. I waved to the chickens on my way past the coop while one of the large female turkeys pecked away at my Uggs.
I got to visit a lot with those birds, and I helped collect a couple eggs. I couldn't help thinking that I seriously can't wait until we are living a lifestyle where chickens and turkeys following us around our own property is a reality. On our way out, my friend bestowed upon us a carton of their eggs.

IMG_20180912_112429845.jpg
Oh, those gorgeous blue and brown nest fresh eggs! :-)

Coming back to my early lunch today though, as I was frying up two of these vibrant little eggs, I found myself thanking my chicken friends for allowing me to collect and consume the products of their life for my own energy. It was automatic, and it actually caught me off guard. I can't honestly remember ever thanking a chicken as I fried their eggs up, and I wondered why I wouldn't have. It seemed like exactly the thing to do, every single time. It just made sense. As I was cooking away, I realized that the reason I thanked them at all was because I connected with them. I did say "chicken friends", and gosh darn, I meant it. I loved hanging out with those little ladies! And here I am, eating the literal fruits of their labors.

IMG_20180912_105039098.jpg
Frying it up with gratitude! Thank you, chicken friends.

As I mentioned, it's nice and all living in the modern world. But the drawbacks as I see them are so much perceived separateness that we forget to connect with all of the most basic things at the most basic level. I mean, this is the food we EAT. This is the Energy and Medicine we are putting into our Temples, our own body-minds, and most people have no connection at all to the source of it. The chickens, the farmers, the dirt it grows in, the water falling from the sky giving it all life, even the truck drivers who deliver us all of our fancy food goodies, all of these things contribute to our well-being and we have NO idea. Of course we don't. How could we begin to appreciate a process that we never see, never learn about, never connect with? Living in abundance of product but falling short on the journey from ground to plate? I'm not trying to say that Western humans have no gratitude, what I'm saying is more that we are so far removed from the most basic processes that connection becomes a novelty. And then we wonder why we surprise ourselves when we look into a frying pan and thank a chicken.

Thanks to my new friends, I made an amazing lunch today after my yoga class. This meal was full of gratitude, connectedness, and mindfulness, and as I ate, it felt like good, pure energy. I also had an exciting revelation. I'm ready to learn more, see more, do more, anything that connects me with the world around me, with the goodness of the food I eat, with the Medicine I absorb. I am ready to go back to living in a way where gratitude makes sense.

... So ready.

P.S., I really wish I had a pic of my hen friends to share, but alas, I was so wrapped up in the moment the entire weekend that I left my camera in my bag. I will also consider THAT to be a great blessing :-3
P.S.S., I also realized as I was writing this all down, that this is EXACTLY what is meant by freedom, the freedom to harvest eggs, the freedom to produce or forage your own food, and the freedom of mind to have a sense of gratitude for it all... and have decided to dedicate this post two days early to @freedomtribe 's #FreedomFriday .

Happy homesteading everyone. Even (especially) if you are urban homesteading, and still finding ways to connect.

x
The Tree of Life

My_Post_1.jpg

Sort:  

There is nothing more satisfying than preparing and eating a meal that you've sourced completely from your own garden/home/farm. I remember the first meal we made from the 'fruits of our labours'.... eggs and freshly-grown veg. It was spectacular. And tasted amazing. And yes, so much more gratitude for what was in my plate, knowing what had gone into its production.

I don't have a garden anymore, or chickens or livestock. However I have never really lost that sense, and so still feel very grateful for all the farmers and producers involved in creating what's on my plate today.

So much freedom there and you harvested it wonderfully. I am looking forward to those hen pictures too, much love 💚

I really enjoy reading about your appreciation of the food and connectedness with it. It's a pretty major part of my lifestyle. This is a truly lovely post. Just loved reading it.

Thank you @walkerland I really appreciate your comment, and that you can relate to this feeling and lifestyle. We are urban homesteaders getting prepped to move to the country and make it official. It's very exciting!

I am so excited for you! :) Moving to the country side and adopting a more self sufficient lifestyle was the best decision we ever made.

It's awesome to see your gratitude for your food and your life shining through! You are also making me miss korean food :)

A couple months ago I had a week's vacation from work and I spent most of that week teaching myself how to cook Korean food 😂 now I'm totally hooked!

Congratulations @thetreeoflife! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62623.56
ETH 3037.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70