Summer time in Antarctica

in #life5 years ago

Snow isn't something that comes to mind when you think Summer time but down in this part of the world, Antarctica, this is what a lot of days look like. As an expedition guide, you do in fact do a bit of waiting around in the snow to transport people around a landing site and cruising around exploring the coastline of this unbelievable beautiful place. To me, it can be quite tiring after a few weeks of doing this for hours and hours on end, especially, when the weather isn't the greatest but that is the gig I signed up for and I have no regrets. I honestly love what I do. One thing you must be prepared for is for this type of weather to roll in quickly, which means having a dry bag that consists of lots of spare gloves and heating packs, as after a few hours of driving high speed zodiacs you tend to lose bit of sensation in your fingers, which sucks but also I wouldn't have it any other way. This job isn't for everyone but if you love exploring remote areas in all types of weather conditions that can change on you in minutes then this might be a career you should look into.

A friend of mine and co-worker took this photo of me, as I was waiting for them to get back to the pre assigned pick up zone we discussed and planned earlier. As you can see I am quite well dressed for cold weather, which is good as it was snowing and quite windy that afternoon on the Antarctic Peninsula. You might notice from most of my other posts that I don't really have lots of photos when the weather conditions are like this, which is because I don't really take my camera out when the weather is like this. The last thing I would want is for my camera gear to be ruined by the less than desirable weather conditions when taking a single photo.


Windows Photo Viewer Wallpaper.jpg
Me, sitting in my zodiac waiting for our Skiing group to come back to the pick up zone
Click image to view full size


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed

Check out my website - Just BCOZ Photography

Sort:  

Like any job, there must be times when you think, “why am I doing this?”, and I’m guessing those times usually involve you being cold and wet.

Son paisajes hermosos pero yo no creo que pueda vivir alli . Bellezas

I like this picture

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.40
ETH 3576.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75