Rescuing My Daughter From The Waves

in #life5 years ago (edited)

P_20190508_164605.jpg

I have some old friends visiting me at the moment and it has been really great connecting with them again. One of them I have not seen in over 12 years so we have had a lot of catching up to do. They have also had the opportunity to get to know my girls as well, and my girls have become fast friends with them both, it is so lovely to see.

Today we went to the beach, the weather has been great since they arrived and we all fancied going for a swim. My friends had rented a camper with enough sits for us all to travel together. I took them to a local beach where dogs are allowed, as both of my canine companions love the sea. The roads are very curvy as you leave the mountains to reach the sea and by the time we got there we were all ready for a swim.

But the water was very choppy and it was quite windy. So we decided to have some food instead and see how everyone felt after that. My girls have been to this beach quiet a few times and have their spots, where they like to go explore with the dogs. Whilst I was putting a blanket on the beach my two eldest girls wandered off. I had already told them not to go swimming.

P_20190508_164503.jpg

They did however decide to climb some rocks, when I lifted my head up to see where they were I could see the two of them on the rocks and one of our dogs with them. Then my youngest daughter called out to me to pick her up which I did and when I looked again I could only see one of my daughters.

I panicked and called for my friend to take my 2 year old and I ran over to where my daughters were. My oldest daughter yelled that a wave had taken her sister. I looked in the water but could nou see her. I when into the sea and it was then I heard her. She was clinging to a small rock that was behind two larger ones and she was getting battered by the waves. She looked so scared and my heart was pounding inside my chest.

It was really difficult to get to her as there were a lot of rocks and the sea floor was uneven, on top of that I got to experience the full power of those waves and I really had to use my full body weight to move against the waves. All the while my daughter kept on calling my name, so scared and alone on that rock that she clung to.

P_20190508_164246.jpg

I got to her eventually, I really think time slowed down as I made my way out, but then I was there and I told her to just climb on to me and not let go. The waves were really strong and forceful, so we had to wait a little bit until we made our way to shore. I kept telling her to hold on as I waded back and at times I could feel her grip loosening. The full force of the waves kept pulling her away from me, but she held tight. I was so scared and yet so relieved that I had her with me.

We were both soaked and quite traumatized, my daughter kept saying she never wanted to come to the sea again. When we finally got back to the van, we let the enormity of what happened really soak in. I explained to me daughter that it is best to stay away from the sea when the waves are strong and that we really need to respect the power of the sea. That it can change from being calm and inviting to rough and stormy and that we need to be aware of when it is safe to be near or in the water.

It seems my daughter got hit by a freak wave, an example of how unpredictable nature can be at times. She has some scratches on her legs and back and I ended up with sea urchin spines in both my feet. As I sit here writing this, both my feet are soaking in vinegar, as vinegar helps to dissolve them. It is not a good idea to use tweezers to pull them out as they tend to break easily and you are left with small shards in your foot.

But they are nothing really. Today I experienced what must be ever parents worse nightmare. I look back thinking I should have said not to go anywhere near the water, but it all happened so quickly, one minute they were next to me and the next they were exploring rocks, that they have explored so many times before.

I love the sea, I love the sound, the smell and the feel of it on my skin as I swim. But I also know how powerful it can be, and now so do both my daughters. What powerful lessons we all learnt today. How lucky I feel right now to have my girls with me.



8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp



DESERT ADVENTURE.png

Sort:  

It happens often enough in Northern California that people walking near the water get pulled in.

I always feel weird being so cautious not even letting them walk on the shore alone, but then I read stories like this and am thankful of my caution.

Posted using Partiko iOS

being cautious is very good, I feel so lucky, I can't even begin to think what if. x

❤️🧜‍♀️❤️

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh...@trucklife-family - must be heart wrenching experience. Glad your daughter was OK.

Posted using Partiko iOS

thank you @bewithbreath, we are both pretty shook up xx

My heart is in my throat after reading this. Powerful lessons about powerful things don't come easy.
Peace to you, and nice warm comfy feet.

thank you @owasco, powerful lessons indeed. My feet are quite sore, but that is the least of my worries really xx

Although it leaps off the pages .. I can only imagine the sense of panic you must have felt. Respect to you, and I'm so glad your daughter is home and safe. X

thank you my friend, it has been ages since I connected with you. I have never been so scared in my life. xxx

A parent's worst nightmare indeed, that was very hard to read and process.. So very glad to hear that she is ok. Sending lots of Love to you and your family

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm relieved that both you and your daughter are safe to tell this tale. Nature is certainly not too be trifled with.

Posted using Partiko Android

SOOOOO glad she and you are safe! And yes, my mother's heart was in my mouth reading this. Truly this might be just slightly rewritten as a magic-miracle entry for @ecotrain, no? Time for LOTS of sea-swimming-water-currents-waves safety lessons. Infinitely much better than telling them to stay away from the water's edge. Blessings to you and the girls - give yourselves some gentle days of thanks and togetherness, for it can so easily be shattered. Much love.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

thank you lovely, yes there will be lots of talks about water safety, she is already a great little swimmer, I nee to get her to water again soon xx

That's a scary story. I'm glad to hear all is well, aside from the sea urchin's spines. :>(

This is not the way you(r daughter) want(s) to learn a lesson, I guess but I'm sure she did learn from this.

I almost drowned twice, myself, on The Canary islands, in 2016. I'm an average swimmer and I had never experienced a sea so unpredictable. Natures takes as easy as it gives.

P.S. I myself also enjoyed the visit of friends these days. We just didn't have beach weather.

xx

oh my goodness, experiences like this are so emotionally draining when all that adrenaline simmers down. I hope your feet feel better soon!

Oh my goddesss!!! That must have been TERRIFYING for you both!!!! You must make sure you go back soon so she gets back on the seahorse so to speak. You must be quite shaken!!!! And look at you... Hero Mum!!! What a legend. So glad you are all okay.

I didn't realise you lived close to the sea? How far a drive is it? Looks lovely...

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73