Mindfulness Monday - Week 12 - I love you to love me

in #life6 years ago (edited)

ekn9duue1t.jpg

w3m81smvw0.png

Happy Monday Steemians!!

It's time again for our weekly mindfulness check up. Better yet it's time for our self care check up. Being mindful is one of the best ways for us to take care of ourselves. Taking a few moments to refocus our attention and intention. However, most important is not letting fear, anxiety, depression, and overthinking to cloud our minds and our judgement. The purpose of being mindful is not to detach you from your thoughts or feelings. It is to put you back in control of yourself without passing judgement on yourself. To clear the chaos in your mind and help you get back on track. To remind you the stressors you face on a daily basis are not in control of you. You are in control of yourself. With a few activities you can regain that control in a short amount of time. I found this picture a few years ago it gives some great basic things you can do.

v9gz9ul9vp.jpg

The source information is in the bottom right corner of the page it's pretty tiny I couldn't get a readable version to post

w3m81smvw0.png

Back when I wish I would have learned about all of this, I was constantly told to use my coping skills. I know I've mentioned this before. The things that I knew to be coping skills were, to go for a walk. To pet my animals. To read. To watch a movie. While these may or may not work. The are not always feasible in a public or work environment. At my previous job, I was always seen with a book in my hand. When I would read, I would forget about the world around me and allow myself to be absorbed in the book. It' was my escape at the time. I was able to 'leave' the stressful environment and forget about anything that bothered me. I tuned everything in the room out. People would come up to talk to me and get mad because I wouldn't answer. I thought if they saw me reading it would be enough of a message to leave me alone. LOL it wasn't.

w3m81smvw0.png

zwq62bb144.jpg

This has become one of the more popular methods of bringing yourself back to the moment. To stop the chaos in you head. The rush of feelings racing through you. This will help you gain control. It may take a little practice to get it down. I still don't remember the order of things, when I use it. It is great when you're in a place where some of the others ones mentioned may not be suitable.

w3m81smvw0.png

I find when I have time off I end up more going toward escapism rather that coping. I don't want to think. I don't want to deal with anything. I want to empty my brain and just have an empty shell. When I spend time alone the overthinking kicks in, so I find if I 'escape' its becomes easier to deal with (at that moment) The side-effect is when I am no longer occupied with activities that keep my brain engaged, I start to think and dwell on things again.

st1bijgstl.jpg

I know the past couple of Mindfulness Mondays have not been happy, chipper content and that some of it is rudundant. One of the ways we learn is to keep repeating what it is we need to learn, so it becomes second nature. If anyone can learn from what I have been through, then my goal for this is accomplished. I have gotten a bit of feedback that make me want to continue with this. I would love more interaction. Communicating and talking about all of this takes away the stigma, provide support. Please don't every think you're alone. I know I do a lot. I hate to burden my family and friends with my problems when they have their own. That is my though process and I know al ot of us with these types of issues go through very similar feelings. Please never hesitate to ask a question or for help. If you want to speak privately. My Discord information is in my profile.

IMG-20180606-WA0005.jpg
Steemitcentral


sgg_footers4.png
Steemit Greeters Guild


Pay It Forward Contests


Picture_20180513_211411075.jpg
Dustsweeper


Asapers.gif
ASAP'ers


manna banner.jpg
Earn passive Universal Basic Income


banner

CREATE YOUR OWN @REVIEWME PROFILE TO START EARNING CREDIBILITY STARS FROM THE COMMUNITY!
CREATING YOUR PROFILE IS EASY! JUST FOLLOW THE STEPS HERE ☜(ˆ▿ˆc)


Thank you for your continued support, Love
tryskele (1).gif

Sort:  

Sound interesting @tryskele😉 this is a refreshing post I've read seriously today. I'd like to escape rather than cope with it😊 but somehow, I think my unconciousness never let me go.. it will appeare in my dream as a solution. So the only thing I need when the troublesome situation touch me, I'll take a nap or sleep longer than usual and once I wake up.. I know what I have to do and take care of everything I can as soon as possible, thoroughly.

Nobody can resolves my problems, it's only me who able to resolve with a little help of encouraging words such as you're posting here. Thank you for sharing this.

I do the same thing when I have a big problem to work out. I sleep and the solution comes to me. I don't get actually escape, sometimes I feel trapped at home. But the brain needs its vacation too. It needs that time to regenerate. I'm glad you liked it. That means a lot to me coming from you :)

That's why we need to hang out with friends and family once in a while😉 I am lucky that I have big family with so many children around😂 they're playing a big role as a recreation place in my mind. Do you think that's why sometimes people choose to do meditation as a way to keep the peacefull mind or it's just another escapism?

I think it depends on the person and their purpose behind it. I do mediations twice a week. Where I work on clearing my mind to be peaceful. I also listen to meditations when I go to sleep. I've learned not to do things that keep my mind active like finding your spirit animal or like that. More of ones that talk me down to sleep, like a bedtime story, but where I'm focused on my breathing and my body relaxing.

The main reason I said I use somethings a escapism instead of coping. Is because my brain doesn't have an off switch. So I have to occupy it as to not think. It's usually certain video games I use to do that. I need to get back into painting so it's a more positive expression.

Absolutely agree... every person has their own situation and way to clear their mind. I think that when you write down what's in your mind through painting or this post, it's called a sweet escape isn't it😉

Because I am a muslim and I have to do 5 times a day of praying where I have 5-7 minutes to only think about God, it's become my meditation kind of activity. And I can do more praying whenever I need too. I appreciate other who creates such a beautiful and inspiring post or painting or songs as a result of their sweet escape. But I believe that it's not just escape but also coping with their unswitched off mind like yours.

Wish you all the best @tryskele.. enjoy your day

Thanks @cicisaja :) You made my day!! Have a great day or night .

Once again you put out good content.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99