What is the Most Beautiful Word in Each language? (1)

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2018-06-08 at 17.34.27.png

What is the Most Beautiful Word in Each language?

That’s what I started to ask myself, and then I decided to write a blog on it. I fully realize I could be in for the long haul (hence the -1- in the title). First of all, I’ll never agree with others nor with myself on what the most beautiful word is, and then there are so many beautiful words and so many languages…. Well let’s have a go anyway.

How to select the most beautiful word? Mmmm, also a good question! For the moment I came up with the following selection criteria, knowing very well that this will change as well. Words can either be very funny, or very beautiful – which is in the eye / mouth of the beholder -, or very unique and untranslatable. There are many words that seem to express exactly what they mean when pronounced; these words will get some bonus points! At the same time let’s go for only one word from each language.

Allright, let’s have a go; obviously I will start with some of the languages I know, as it is easier to choose from.

Italian
Il primo posto has to be given to the Italian language, as it is the most beautiful language in the world. Well, in my opinion anyway. There are so many words to choose from, so this was hard. In the end, I chose the word below, as it gives you thinking time when you don’t know what to say next, and you can just about use it anytime, anywhere.

Allora
“so”, “then” or “well”

Friesian
My mother tongue and one of the founding languages of the English language; I chose a word that sounds funny, it literally translates as “fall down (small) cloth”.

Donderdeldoekje
“parachute”

Afrikaans
Of course, Afrikaans is closely related to Dutch, and I can still understand most of it. The word below translates as “the breath of a ghost”:

Spookasem
“cotton candy”

English
It’s also difficult to choose from the English language, in the end I chose a word that just sounds utterly beautiful:

Mellifluous
“a sound that is pleasing to hear”

Kiswahili
And let’s end this blog with a non-existing word, but a word that everybody in Kenya is using to let others know that finally the work week has come to an end, and that it is time to party:

Furahiday
“Friday”, “Happy day”, furahi = happy

Let me know what your favourite words are in every language and we’ll compile all of them in a long list!!!


Click here for my other posts

Language
Language affects the way we think
Words change the Colours we see

Winecraft
Winecraft - Bench - wine barrel project
Winecraft - Lounger - wine barrel project
Winecraft - Table - wine barrel project

Cycling
I beat the Magalies Monster!
5 Random Tips and Tricks for MTB riders (5)
5 Random Tips and Tricks for MTB riders (4)
5 Random Tips and Tricks for MTB riders (3)
5 Random Tips and Tricks for MTB riders (2)
5 Random Tips and Tricks for MTB riders (1)
What to carry on your bike
Bhutan - Tour of the Dragon - 268 km MTB race
Plugging your tires
My bike, Salsa Cutthroat
My competitors
Fast after 50: book review

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64203.15
ETH 3065.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93