Extreme Ocean Pollution - Dominican Republic - October 2018

in #life6 years ago


At what point do you decide to accept that the many environmental activists who camp out in trees to prevent destruction and who do whatever they feel needed to try to protect the planet are more right than most have allowed?

This video was shot recently off the coast of the 'Dominican Republic' - Is this what we want to be known for in the cosmos? Do you think it's possible that maybe Earth has a quarantine in universe and one of the reasons we don't see intergalactic visitors (very often) is because in general we are living like zombies?


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I was not aware of that, no - I imagine it is a pretty complicated situation in some senses - due to the number of parties involved.

If I didn't know any better I'd have thought it was an image from a landfill. We've got to take action to clean this planet up. Let's get it DONE.

Wow.. I didn't know that the Caribbean Ocean is that polluted. There are some ocean cleaning projects but of course we have to stop to create that much plastic.

There is a huge island of literal garbage out in the ocean near there.. It is one of the most polluted places on Earth - surrounded by Americans who don't give a shit, tourists who don't give a shit and local folks who either don't give a shit or who don't have the resources to change the situation. :/

absolutely disgusting.

We are all guilty of this and must stop using all plastic. There are alternative for anything plastic these days. This is our planet we are responsible not anyone else 💯🐒

Now there's no doubt there's trash in the ocean. But I think the onus is not on us the people, but rather the bastards who are using media spin to push their 2030 agenda. (Once again)

Curious on your thoughts on this?

https://news.nationalgeographic.com/2018/03/great-pacific-garbage-patch-plastics-environment/

IMG_4602.PNG

Everyone has responsibility to know that every decision they make has knock on effects beyond the scope of their local reality. It can be tough to have no involvement in this - even when I chose to become vegan, partially to limit the pollution I create - I found that it is hard to get away from plastics unless I grow my own food. Growing my own food is the best option in many ways, but that means I don't do other things that I think do need to be done.

Basically, we need to collectively agree to work together in cleaner, more useful ways. Treating the ocean like a hunting ground slash waste dump is not an example of that.

I grow a food, a good bit of it every year (not enough to be independent, yet) I also compost all my scraps and bring reusable bags to grocery stores. Little differences that add up over time. But more importantly of my own free choice to do so.

I agree we need to collectively work together. But as a community outside of the clutches of the government/corporation controll.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66274.97
ETH 3175.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06