When your 2 year old kid gets a hold of the fish food

in #life5 years ago

I just spent a long time cleaning up this mess caused by my kid that wanted to feed the fish on his own. He usually helps out, but this time he managed to get his hands on the food without me seeing it. He surely didn't hold back with the food!

IMG_0702 – Kopi.JPG
It's raining food!

IMG_0705 – Kopi.JPG
Corydoras sterbai in the background. The entire aquarium looked like this.

The fish are definitely getting full tonight, but my concern is all the problems that could be caused by all the leftover food that I didn't manage to get out. There's a lot of nitrogen in the food, which could end up as ammonium or nitrates, which tend to be bad for fish and other living organisms. I will likely get an algal bloom as well. Guess it's time for very frequent water changes in the coming days and weeks!

Sort:  

Yes, the fish are definitely getting satisfied :-D
Like you say, it's not so good for the water.
He will learn that someday :-)

Yep, he will hopefully learn that in a few years. Until then I have to hide the fish food better ;)

That's a good idea :-)
Or give him a small cup where the right amount of food is inside ;-)

Yep, that's what we usually do :)

I also had a tank some years ago. I had some Copadichromis borleyi Kadango red fin in it.

That's a nice fish! They grow to be very big though, right?

That's true, it will grow very big. Mine was around 16cm.
I accidentally got it, the pet shop sold me the wrong fish. I wanted to buy an Aulonocara, which will not get so big.

Hi @valth!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.214 which ranks you at #852 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 2 places in the last three days (old rank 850).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 179 contributions, your post is ranked at #109.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69735.97
ETH 3533.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72