My Life Today: Visiting AdaCore in New York City - Oktoberfest with my ColleaguessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

AdaCore, in New York City

This week, I traveled to New York to meet and work with my colleagues at AdaCore, the company I work for as a full-time consultant.

In addition to the annual Summer Gathering, three times per year, the company has "hub weeks". All the consultants and remote employees in North America converge in New York for three days, Tuesday to Thursday. Often some of the European employees come from Paris for these hub weeks, as this was the case this time.

I came to New York last Sunday and went back to British Columbia Friday evening.

As we develop software on many different platforms, and we test the software products every night, in the New York office there is a "machine room" with many racked computers. When the company moved its ofice three years ago, they decide to have the machine room behind glass.


adacore_machine_room.png

This is the first thing you see when you come into the office.

Oktoberfest at Reichenbach Hall

During these "hub weeks", there is usually an evening organized for whoever wants to participate. This time it was in "Manahattan's largest indoor beer hall", Reichenbach Hall.


oktoberfest_02.png

We were thirty people on two long tables.


oktoberfest_01.png

Of course, we drank beer. As I am very easily drunk, I only drank half a litre. But many of my colleagues ordered on or two litres.

And there were many different foods such as sausages and giant pretzels.


oktoberfest_03.png

But, there were also several food items that were vegan: read cabbage, sauerkraut, potato salad, grilled Brussels sprouts. So, I was able to eat those.


oktoberfest_04.png

Our German colleague Ingo seemed to be quite pleased.



Sort:  

Oktoberfest was banned in Peninsular Malaysia because Islam forbids the consumption of alcohol. It is a sad day when followers of one religion tries to impose its values on non-followers. Fortunately in Sarawak where I am from, the State Government allows Oktoberfest to be held. By the way following you now.

I think my company could learn a thing or two from yours!

I knew you would like it!

When it got to beer hall I was hooked! :0)

Octoberfest in New York! The world is getting smaller and smaller.

It must be an AdaCore thing...

Doug's office looks so similar (albeit just a little messier!)

I enjoy Oktoberfest as well.

I have provided the answer to a contest.

Must be awesome to work for such a company that cares so much for its employees. :) That is a seriously weird sight when you walk in the office. But, then again, I kinda like the laid back and modern vibe. Not at all a bad choice for software company office design. :D

I, as an employee of that company, find the display a bit weird. We're a software company, and there's an altar to the Mammon of hardware! ;-)

Yes, I likes the company. And I am not alone: the turnover is very small, most people stays for a long time working for AdaCore.

Looks like fun!
How nice when you get to work, travel and enjoy your self all at once!

Thanks for sharing your life with us.

Best Regards~*~

Great that you had time to post on your business trip. I lived half of my life in British Columbia, near Burnaby, by Champlain Mall. My husband and I travel a lot, whenever we are able to and add leisure travels to our business trips also. Upvoted and followed.

I just saw the ADACore Blog and it contains many interesting DIY projects.

Thanks.

@vcelier , thanks for your support ! Are you currently working on any Steemit projects as well ? I have some ideas of some cool projects but do not have any experience in programming , software or websites etc.

No, I am not working on any STEEM programming project.

thanks for response, cheers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63202.55
ETH 3085.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85